We are all very sad at the passing of Vince Flynn. (News: Vince Flynn Passes Away)

I was a huge Vince Flynn fan. I still remember reading Transfer of Power, the first Mitch Rapp book. I liked it so much, that despite there being a huge thunderstorm outside, I ran up to the local bookstore getting soaked just so I could buy the 2nd book in the series.

There’s no doubt that Vince Flynn redefined the spy thriller genre.

And honestly – I’m sad for purely selfish reasons as well. I want more Mitch Rapp! If anything that’s a credit to how good a writer Vince Flynn was – I’m legitimately saddened by his death, because the Mitch Rapp series was so good I wanted it to go on forever.

With the potential end of that series(although I wouldn’t be surprised to see ghost writers take on the job), I thought I would create a list of other characters in the spy thriller genre that I enjoy and read on a regular basis.

If you are a fan of the Mitch Rapp series of books, I recommend you check out the following:

“Spider” Shepherd: A book series I discovered recently. Shepherd is a former SAS trooper who now works for an undercover squad. The books usually have two main story arcs at once – one with Shepherd undercover, and one with an overlying terrorist plot. Much like Flynn there is also a long-term storyline that covers multiple books.

Nick Stone: Also a former member of the SAS, Stone works for British Intelligence and partakes in the same sort of deniable ops that Rapp does. His first book, Remote Control, remains my favourite book of all time.

Nick Heller: Only two books to his name at his time – he’s a private investigator who can take anyone down much like Rapp. Personally I’d recommend reading all the Joseph Finder novels – they are some of the best standalone novels of all time.

Jack Reacher: I’m sure you know who he is.

Bob Lee Swagger: The best sniper in the world, and a vietnam vet. Personally I’d only recommend reading the original trilogy of Point of Impact, Black Light and Time to Hunt. They get noticeable worse after that, much like the Star Wars movies.

Scot Harvath: An ex-navy seal turned secret service agent. Personally I wasn’t the biggest fan of these books but they are still solid and have a huge fanbase.

Who else would you recommend to people who like the Vince Flynn and Mitch Rapp books? Your comments are welcome below and I’ll update this post.


Order of Books » Blog » If You Like Vince Flynn/Mitch Rapp, You’ll Love…
  • andy

    Try John stratton books by the author Duncan Falconer, about current and ex SBS officer, very good and very current

  • Steve

    I agree, Scot Harvath is a low-rent Mitch Rapp. Avoid at all cost, unbelievably bad writing – inane and ludicrous plot-lines.

    • Txtraveler

      While I agree that Scot Harvath is a much inferior character to Rapp (he keeps getting rescued by women and then falling for them) and the writing isn’t as good (Brad Thor writes like he’s hoping for a screenplay before the book is even finished), I’d still recommend giving the series a try. The plots are over-the-top at times, but the writing of the series actually improved as it went on.

      • Eddie Wienbauer

        That goes for most of today’s authors.They all hope to be picked up by a tv comapany.
        Don’t really get why,cause most tv series based on good boks sucks sweaty donkey balls

  • Rickkins

    Sucks to hear the author died, so young too.

  • Becky

    Pike Logan by Brad Taylor. I’ve only read the first one but couldn’t put it down.

  • Tracey

    I’m an avid Mitch Rapp fan, so extremely saddened to learn of Flynn’s passing. But after a long search of excellent writing and realistic hero’s that jump off the page, I would recommend the Jericho Quinn by author Marc Cameron. He is awesome! I also came across Dan Morgan by new author Leo Maloney and the Jonathan Grave series by author John Gilstrap. They shouldn’t dissapoint!

    • Jim

      Tracey, Thank you for recommending the Jericho Quinn series by Marc Cameron. I bought National Security about a month ago and have now read every book in the series. Can’t wait for the next one to come out! Your recommendation was so good that I’m moving to your next one (Leo Maloney) now. Thanks

  • Billy B

    I, recently became a rabid Vince Flynn reader and didn’t find out until I started reading his novels that he is in Heaven with our Father and and am seriously sad to learn of his passing. Why God takes people like Vince is a mystery, but I, if you can, would like to pass on to his wife and children my sincere sympathies and late players to them.

    Bill from Colchester Connecticut

  • Orion Team

    Vince Flynn was kind enough to leave us a little “Easter Egg” in ‘Protect and Defend’. There is a mention of a John Corey Book by Nelson DeMille on Mitch Rapp’s bookshelf. While it is not quite Mitch Rapp novel, you can see the influence. John Corey is very much a smart ass and the series is a good read.

  • TEDIII

    Terry Hayes (I Am A Pilgrim) has a great character

    • Anton Edvinsson

      Indeed a FANTASTIC debut! Extremly suspensful

  • Jeff

    Try Ben Coes (Dewey Andreas character). I’ve read all the Vince Flynn books as well as Lee Child, Daniel Silva and Alex Berenson (he’s also really good). Ben Coes is a VERY close second to Vince Flynn – you won’t be disappointed!!!!

    • Erik

      On my 4th Ben Coes (Dewey Andreas) in a week. Action, suspense, politics.

    • Steven Miller

      Thank you you. Just finished the Dewey Andreas series in 3 weeks.
      I want more. Excellent recommendation.

  • Jason

    A.shaw by David Baldacci is a great series if you like Mitch rapp

  • BustaVamp

    The Scot Harvath are the absolute worst! They should be titled “Goofy Girl Adventures with Scot”.

    • marcel

      i love it nothing goofy about it. lots of action. very good books

  • JohnMC

    Thanks i’ll keep these in mind. I can’t believe how much I enjoy reading the Mitch Rapp series. Never was much of a fan of reading ’till I stumbled across Kill Shot in an airport. I then proceeded to buy the rest of the novels. Now I’ve almost completed the series reading about a book a week during lunch breaks at work. It’s such a shame that Vince Flynn has passed, may he rest in peace.

  • Mike VT

    John Wells Series by Alex Berenson alot like the mitch rapp series not as good but i find theyre fairly similar.

  • David Oleyar

    Agree the Ben Coes and Brad Taylor are both great. Try the Gabriel Allon series by Daniel Silva as well.

  • Andre Rosso

    Check out Terminal Rage by A.M. Khalifa. It’s getting a lot of praise and has been compared to Vince Flynn and Ludlum.

  • nikunj

    Old but Sean Dillon has his way , his books good . An ex IRA operative.

  • Grenneam

    Jerry

  • Grenneam

    Sorry – I screwed up the 1st post. Just wanted THANK everyone for their recommendations. I personally think that Brad Taylor (A really good and relatively new author) is every bit as good a Vince Flynn was and have read all the books by both of them. Brad Thor’s, Scott Harvath, novels are so filled with repetitive information they quick bore anyone looking for suspense and his hero is such a clutz it’s amazing he got past the first iteration of the series. I read 2 of those books and vowed I never try another.
    I have in the past also enjoyed the John Sandford, Prey series and have read most of his Virgil Flowers series because I’m getting hard up for things to read. Another reason that I’m thanking the posters here for their input. After reading all the Vince Flynn and all of the Brad Taylor books and all of the Lee Child books, a person tends to get really picky about the quality of the authors they seek. So thanks again for the authors you’ve so kindly recommended…

  • Jeanne

    My vote is for Ben Coes (Dewey Andreas Series). Read them all – Flynn, Thor, Silva, Childs and enjoyed them all. Andreas is very much like Rapp.

  • TS

    I’m so glad you prepared this for the World to see. And I recommend Barry Eisler’s John Rain.

  • ಪಾಪು

    No books can beat Vince Flynn’s. If he could write from up there! Then no one can be compared Lee Child. Daniel Silva is good as well with Gabriel Allon. Some of Andy McNab’s books are good. I also liked Samuel Carver series by Tom Cain.
    Finally Vince Flynn on top and almost equally Lee Child.

  • projspec

    Try Ben Coes, his Dewey Andreas series of 5 so far were good from the start and he is getting to be a progressively better. Best read in order, Dewey deals with terrorists somewhat like Mitch Rapp.

  • Kevin

    David Baldacci has a number of excellent series that are worth reading. The thrill and suspense he creates is phenomenal. I would recommend the following Baldacci series: King & Maxwell (6 books), Will Robie (4), John Puller (3), A.Shaw (2), Camel Club (5), Amos Decker (2). My personal favorite is the King & Maxwell series, but I was thoroughly impressed with Camel Club.

    • The Deplorable Russ in OR

      Second ‘The Camel Club’