Amitav Ghosh is an Indian author of fiction and non-fiction books. Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta in 1956. He studied in Dehra Dun, New Delhi, Alexandria and Oxford and his first job was at the Indian Express newspaper in New Delhi. He earned a doctorate at Oxford. He has taught at many universities in India and the United States, including Delhi University, Columbia, the City University of New York and Harvard. Amitav is married to the writer, Deborah Baker, and has two children, Lila and Nayan. He divides his time between Kolkata, Goa and Brooklyn.

Amitav Ghosh made his debut as a published author in 1986 with the novel The Circle of Reason. Below is a list of Amitav Ghosh’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Amitav Ghosh releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ibis Trilogy Books

Sea of Poppies (2008)Description / Buy at
River of Smoke (2011)Description / Buy at
Flood of Fire (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Circle of Reason (1986)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Lines (1988)Description / Buy at
The Calcutta Chromosome (1996)Description / Buy at
The Glass Palace (2000)Description / Buy at
The Hungry Tide (2004)Description / Buy at
Gun Island (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

In an Antique Land (1993)Description / Buy at
Dancing in Cambodia, at Large in Burma (1998)Description / Buy at
The Imam and the Indian - Prose Pieces (2002)Description / Buy at
Incendiary Circumstances (2005)Description / Buy at
Dancing in Cambodia and Other Essays (2008)Description / Buy at
Countdown (2010)Description / Buy at
The Great Derangement (2016)Description / Buy at
The Nutmeg's Curse (2021)Description / Buy at
Smoke and Ashes: Opium's Hidden Histories (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Jungle Nama: A Story of the Sunderban (With: Salman Toor) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Amitav Ghosh Books, You’ll Love…

  • Tahmima Anam
  • David Davidar
  • Shashi Tharoor

Amitav Ghosh Synopses: The Shadow Lines by Amitav Ghosh is about recent Indian political history, covers partition and violence in Bengal. The novel reflects post-colonial concerns with historical memory, symbolism, and cultural transition.

The Calcutta Chromosome is a standalone novel by Amitav Ghosh. It is a journey through time as a computer programmer trapped in a mind-numbing job hits upon a curious item that will forever change his life. When Antar discovers the battered I.D. card of a long-lost acquaintance, he is suddenly drawn into a spellbinding adventure across centuries and around the globe, into the strange life of L. Murugan, a man obsessed with the medical history of malaria, and into a magnificently complex world where conspiracy hangs in the air like mosquitoes on a summer night.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Amitav Ghosh Books

Leave a Reply