Jeffrey Archer is an English author and former politician, whose political career ended following a financial scandal. As far as his literary career goes, he has written novels, short stories and plays. He tends to stick to the thriller and drama genres, although he has also written some children’s books. Aside from writing fiction, he has also had three non-fiction books published based, covering his time in prison for perjury and perverting the course of justice.

Archer began his career as an author in 1976 with Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less. Since that time, most of his books have been standalone, besides his Kane and Abel series. Below is a list of Jeffrey Archer’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jeffrey Archer releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kane and Abel Books

Shall We Tell the President? (1977)Description / Buy at
Kane and Abel (1979)Description / Buy at
The Prodigal Daughter (1982)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Kane and Abel Books

Kane and Abel(1979)Description / Buy at
The Prodigal Daughter(1982)Description / Buy at
Shall We Tell the President?(1977)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Clifton Chronicles Books

Only Time Will Tell (2011)Description / Buy at
The Sins of the Father (2012)Description / Buy at
Best Kept Secret (2013)Description / Buy at
Be Careful What You Wish For (2014)Description / Buy at
Mightier Than the Sword (2015)Description / Buy at
Cometh the Hour (2016)Description / Buy at
This Was a Man (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Detective William Warwick Books

Nothing Ventured (2019)Description / Buy at
Hidden in Plain Sight (2020)Description / Buy at
Turn a Blind Eye (2021)Description / Buy at
Over My Dead Body (2021)Description / Buy at
Next in Line (2022)Description / Buy at
Traitors Gate (2023)Description / Buy at
An Eye for An Eye (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less (1976)Description / Buy at
First Among Equals (1983)Description / Buy at
A Matter of Honor (1985)Description / Buy at
As the Crow Flies (1990)Description / Buy at
Honor Among Thieves (1993)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Estate (1996)Description / Buy at
The Eleventh Commandment (1998)Description / Buy at
The Accused (2000)Description / Buy at
Sons of Fortune (2002)Description / Buy at
False Impression (2005)Description / Buy at
A Prisoner of Birth (2008)Description / Buy at
Paths of Glory (2009)Description / Buy at
Heads You Win (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Old Love (1990)Description / Buy at
The Grass is Always Greener (2000)Description / Buy at
Cheap at Half the Price (2011)Description / Buy at
Never Stop on the Motorway (2011)Description / Buy at
In the Eye of the Beholder (2011)Description / Buy at
The Senior Vice President (2017)Description / Buy at
It Can't be October Already (2017)Description / Buy at
A Wasted Hour (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

Beyond Reasonable Doubt (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

By Royal Appointment (1980)Description / Buy at
Willy And The Killer Kipper (1981)Description / Buy at
The First Miracle (1994)Description / Buy at
Willy Visits The Square World (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Quiver Full of Arrows (1980)Description / Buy at
Fools, Knaves, and Heroes (1989)Description / Buy at
Twelve Red Herrings (1994)Description / Buy at
To Cut a Long Story Short (1997)Description / Buy at
The Collected Short Stories (1997)Description / Buy at
A Twist in the Tale (2000)Description / Buy at
Cat O'Nine Tales and Other Stories (2006)Description / Buy at
And Thereby Hangs a Tale (2010)Description / Buy at
The New Collected Short Stories (2011)Description / Buy at
Four Warned (2014)Description / Buy at
Tell Tale (2017)Description / Buy at
The Short, The Long and the Tall (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Gospel According to Judas by Benjamin Iscariot (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of A Prison Diary Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Little Kingdoms Books

The Ridiculous Race (2024)Description / Buy at
Dance of the Underpants (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Grown-Ups' Book Of Books(1999)Description / Buy at
Suspense Magazine June 2013(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jeffrey Archer Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jeffrey Archer Books

4 Responses to “Order of Jeffrey Archer Books”

  1. BarneyBarbara: 7 years ago

    We do quite a bit of traveling in our car, so we have listened to almost all of Archer’s books. They are interesting at the very beginning of each book


  2. Liz Renn: 7 years ago

    I love the Clifton Chronicles. Until #7- I was very disappointed in the way he hurridly tied things up. The subject matter needed at least one more book.


  3. pippin2: 8 years ago

    The Clifton Chronicles is a dynamite series…I finish one and immediately go to the next. Will hate to finish the 7th book.


  4. Johnny Cee: 9 years ago

    This author is very cool. Parliamentarian, Convict, now best selling author.


Leave a Reply