Andrey Kurkov is a Ukrainian author. He is a well-respected intellectual and commentator on issues involving Ukraine. His works often explore the complexities of post-Soviet society with dark humour and poignant insight. Through his writing, he navigates themes of identity, isolation, and political upheaval, crafting stories that resonate deeply with readers worldwide. Kurkov lives in Kyiv with his wife, Elizabeth, and their three children.

Andrey Kurkov made his debut in 2001 with the novel Death and the Penguin. Below is a list of Andrey Kurkov’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Andrey Kurkov releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Penguin Books

Death and the Penguin (2001)Description / Buy at
The Case of the General's Thumb (2003)Description / Buy at
Penguin Lost (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Samson Kolechko Investigates Books

The Silver Bone (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The President's Last Love (2004)Description / Buy at
A Matter оf Death аnd Life (2005)Description / Buy at
The Milkman in the Night (2008)Description / Buy at
The Good Angel of Death (2009)Description / Buy at
The Gardener from Ochakov (2010)Description / Buy at
The Bickford Fuse (2011)Description / Buy at
Jimi Hendrix Live in Lviv (2012)Description / Buy at
Grey Bees (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Ukraine Diaries (2014)Description / Buy at
Diary of an Invasion (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Andrey Kurkov Books, You’ll Love…

  • Oksana Zabuzhko
  • Serhii Plokhy
  • Nina Shevchuk-Murray

Andrey Kurkov Synopses: In Death and the Penguin by Andrey Kurkov, in present-day Ukraine, an unlikely hero emerges in the form of a penguin as Viktor, a struggling writer, finds himself entangled in a dangerous game with the Mafia. While Viktor harbors aspirations of publishing his short stories, he finds himself relegated to composing obituaries for the local newspaper, with the unfortunate trend of his subjects stubbornly refusing to pass away. Finding solace in his pet penguin, Misha, Viktor’s hopes soar when he finally sees his work in print. However, his joy turns to dismay as both he and Misha become unwitting targets in a lethal scheme.

The President’s Last Love by Andrey Kurkov takes readers on a comedic journey through the tumultuous world of Ukrainian politics, centered around President Bunin’s misadventures and eccentricities. From his bizarre encounters with Putin and other world leaders to his tumultuous relationships with family, lovers, and corrupt businessmen, Bunin navigates a maze of personal and political challenges. However, his greatest source of concern arises from his recent heart transplant, which brings unexpected complications and the mysterious presence of his donor’s widow. Set against the backdrop of a rapidly changing political landscape, this satirical tale offers a humorous exploration of love, deception, and life both behind and beyond the Iron Curtain.

A Matter of Death and Life is a standalone novel by Andrey Kurkov. In this intriguing narrative, the protagonist meticulously orchestrates their own demise, meticulously planning every detail with the intent to become more captivating in death than in life. Through a carefully coordinated scheme involving phone calls and box numbers, they set the stage for their own murder, anticipating the heightened interest and intrigue that will follow. However, as the plan unfolds, a crucial question emerges: what if the protagonist experiences a change of heart and decides they want to live after all? This unexpected twist adds layers of suspense and complexity to the story, challenging the protagonist’s resolve and forcing them to confront their own mortality in unexpected ways.

In The Milkman in the Night by Andrey Kurkov, Semyon finds himself in a perplexing situation where he repeatedly wakes up in the living room with blood on his shirt, facing the ire of his wife, and with no memory of the previous night’s events. As these episodes continue, Semyon realizes he must delve into the mystery to uncover the truth.

With the help of his friend Volodka, Semyon discovers that he has been meeting a mysterious tall, blonde woman and accompanying her to her apartment during the night. However, during the day, Semyon has no recollection of this woman or where her apartment is located. To add to the intrigue, they soon realize that someone is surveilling Volodka as he monitors Semyon’s activities.

Meanwhile, in Kyiv, other bizarre occurrences unfold, including an unemployed sniffer-dog handler stumbling upon a dangerous discovery, a single mother providing breast milk for an unusual recipient, and a vengeful cat wreaking havoc in the city.

As Semyon navigates through this web of strange events and unsettling discoveries, he must uncover the truth behind his mysterious nighttime escapades and the bizarre happenings in Kyiv before it’s too late.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrey Kurkov Books

Leave a Reply