Bill Brooks is an American Western author who has authored over 20 books in the genre. This face is far more impressive when you consider that Brooks didn’t even begin writing Westerns until he was fifty years old.

Brooks left home at the age of just 17 and by his own admission was a bit of a wandering man for a few years. He held multiple jobs and lived in diverse places which gave him a good sense of the world. He then found the medical industry where he worked for many years. First as a respiratory therapist and then as a manager of cardio-pulmonary departments for 16 years. When he retired from that, he began writing at the age of 50.

Get notified when Bill Brooks releases a new book at

Publication Order of Law For Hire Books

Protecting Hickok (2003)Description / Buy at
Defending Cody (2003)Description / Buy at
Saving Masterson (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dakota Lawman Books

Last Stand at Sweet Sorrow (2005)Description / Buy at
Killing Mr. Sunday (2005)Description / Buy at
The Big Gundown (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Journey of Jim Glass Books

Rides a Stranger (2006)Description / Buy at
A Bullet for Billy (2007)Description / Buy at
The Horses (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of John Henry Cole Books

Blood Storm (2012)Description / Buy at
Frontier Justice (2012)Description / Buy at
Winter Kill (2013)Description / Buy at
Ride the Man Down (2013)Description / Buy at
Men of Violence (2014)Description / Buy at
Go and Bury Your Dead (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ivory and Albert Books

The Young Desperados (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Badmen (1992)Description / Buy at
Buscadero (1993)Description / Buy at
Longing for Home (1994)Description / Buy at
Moon's Blood (1994)Description / Buy at
The Last Law There Was (1995)Description / Buy at
Old Times (1995)Description / Buy at
Deadwood (1997)Description / Buy at
Pistolero (1998)Description / Buy at
Dust on the Wind (1998)Description / Buy at
Leaving Cheyenne (1998)Description / Buy at
Return to No Man's Land (2000)Description / Buy at
The Stone Garden (2001)Description / Buy at
Pretty Boy (2003)Description / Buy at
Bonnie and Clyde (2003)Description / Buy at
Vengeance Trail (2008)Description / Buy at
The Messenger (2009)Description / Buy at
The Righteous Revenge of Lucy Moon (2015)Description / Buy at
Stolen Horses (2016)Description / Buy at
Bill Doolin (2016)Description / Buy at
American Tragedy (2016)Description / Buy at
The Girl With the Flamenco Tattoo (2017)Description / Buy at
Catch Me, Kill Me (2019)Description / Buy at
The Pistoleros (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Bill Brooks Books, You’ll Love…

Ike Kellly’s detective agency is down to just one operative: John Henry Cole and he has a big job ahead of him in Blood Storm. Kelly’s former lover is running an escort service in Deadwood and three of her girls have ended up dead. Kelly sends Cole in to investigate and try to find the murdered, but the town of Deadwood is as dangerous as it’s reputation since the murder of the great Wild Bill Hickok.

Another nice read from Brooks is The Righteous Revenge of Lucy Moon. Lucy Moon is a newly wed on her honeymoon when words comes in that her mother has been murdered. She takes her husband with her and heads back to Pistol Barrel of Oklahoma with revenge on her mind. She’ll encounter all kinds of bad guys and gunslingers in her quest to find the killer, including the half-breed Red Dog who could be responsible for the murder. This book is a violent, bloody, and sexy trip through the old time lawless Midwest.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bill Brooks Books

Leave a Reply