Billy Taylor is an American author of humourous fiction and YA novels. Billy has taught and guest lectured at Gemini Ink, SUNY Purchase, New York University, and Trinity University. He is a graduate of the Film Program at SUNY Purchase and the Interactive Telecommunications Program at New York University. Prior to becoming a novelist, Billy worked as a dolly grip on dozens of films and television shows. Billy lives in San Antonio, Texas with his wife, Anne, and two children.

Billy Taylor made his debut as a novelist in 2008 with the novel Based on the Movie. Below is a list of Billy Taylor’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Billy Taylor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Based on the Movie (2008)Description / Buy at
Thieving Weasels (2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Billy Taylor Books, You’ll Love…

  • Alisa Kwitney
  • Nancy Farmer
  • Bryan Lee O’Malley

Billy Taylor Synopsis: Based on the Movie is a standalone novel by Billy Taylor. Nine months after Bobby Conlon’s wife, Natalie, dumped him for a hot young director, his life is in a whirlwind. But it’s time to throw out that year-old Christmas tree decorated with 500 empty Vicodin bottles and head to Texas to work on a movie starring Ralph the Swimming Pig. Having arrived in Texas, Bobby realizes he has signed on to the most dysfunctional movie ever. The director can’t direct, the pig catches pneumonia, and just when things can’t get any worse, Natalie and her boyfriend are hired to take over the movie. Suddenly, Bobby’s personal and professional lives intermingle, and no matter which way he turns, fresh disasters await. Still, in spite of everything, Bobby clings to the hope that a happy ending might be possible. This is the movie business, after all.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Billy Taylor Books

Leave a Reply