Carlos Fuentes (1928-2012) was a Mexican novelist and essayist. He was described by the New York Times as being “one of the most admired writers in the Spanish-speaking world” in his obituary. Fuentes considered himself to be a pre-modern writer, and only used pens, ink and paper. The son of a Mexican diplomat, he would go onto become one himself, serving as ambassador to France.

Carlos Fuentes made his debut as a published author in 1958 with the novel Where the Air is Clear. He continued to write until his death in 2012. Below is a list of Carlos Fuentes’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where the Air is Clear (1958)Description / Buy at
The Good Conscience (1959)Description / Buy at
Aura (1962)Description / Buy at
The Death of Artemio Cruz (1962)Description / Buy at
A Change of Skin (1967)Description / Buy at
Terra Nostra (1975)Description / Buy at
The Hydra Head (1978)Description / Buy at
Distant Relations (1980)Description / Buy at
The Old Gringo (1985)Description / Buy at
Christopher Unborn (1986)Description / Buy at
The Campaign (1991)Description / Buy at
The Orange Tree (1993)Description / Buy at
Diana (1994)Description / Buy at
The Crystal Frontier (1995)Description / Buy at
The Years with Laura Diaz (1999)Description / Buy at
Inez (2000)Description / Buy at
The Eagle's Throne (2002)Description / Buy at
Vlad (2004)Description / Buy at
Happy Families (2006)Description / Buy at
Destiny and Desire (2008)Description / Buy at
Adam in Eden (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Burnt Water (1981)Description / Buy at
Myself with Others (1988)Description / Buy at
Constancia and Other Stories for Virgins (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Juan Rulfo's Mexico (With: Margo Glantz,Jorge Alberto Lozoya,Eduardo Rivero,Víctor Jiménez,E. Billeter) (1984)Description / Buy at
The Buried Mirror (1992)Description / Buy at
A New Time for Mexico (1994)Description / Buy at
The Diary of Frida Kahlo: An Intimate Self-Portrait (1995)Description / Buy at
Voluptuario (1996)Description / Buy at
Territories of Time (2003)Description / Buy at
This I Believe (2004)Description / Buy at
Frida Kahlo: National Homage 1907-2007 (With: Frida Kahlo,James Oles,Salomon Grimberg,Raquel Tibol) (2008)Description / Buy at
Fragile Demon: Juan Soriano in Mexico, 1935 to 1950 (With: Octavio Paz,Edward J. Sullivan) (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Eye of the Heart(1973)Description / Buy at
Magical Realist Fiction(1984)Description / Buy at
The Penguin Book of Latin American Short Stories(1992)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Latin American Short Stories(1997)Description / Buy at
The Picador Book of Latin American Stories(1999)Description / Buy at
Vintage Book of Latin American Stories(2000)Description / Buy at
Bordering Fires: The Vintage Book of Contemporary Mexican and Chicana and Chicano Literature(2006)Description / Buy at
A Very Mexican Christmas(2022)Description / Buy at

Note: The Picador Book of Latin American Stories was edited with Julio Ortega.

If You Like Carlos Fuentes Books, You’ll Love…

Carlos Fuentes Synopses: In The Death of Artemio Cruz by Carlos Fuentes, Artemio Cruz is an all-powerful newspaper magnate and land baron who is confined to his bed and, in dream-like flashes, recalls the pivotal aspects of his life. Tales are told from Cruz’s heroic campaigns during the Mexican Revolution, through his relentless climb from poverty to wealth, to his uneasy death. This novel is a haunting voyage into the soul of modern Mexico.

The Campaign is a standalone title by Carlos Fuentes. Set during Spanish America’s struggle for independence, Baltasar Bustos sets out across several South American nations and Mexico on campaign of redemption that is both public and personal.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carlos Fuentes Books

Leave a Reply