Cindy Woodsmall is an American author who has written extensively about Amish people and the Amish lifestyle. She has real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families that really help in her writing.

Cindy made best friends as a young girl with Luann, a Plain Mennonite girl, who taught her the ways of the Amish and whenever the two were together, they followed Luann’s family rules. As an adult, she has made more friendships with Amish people including Old Order Amish Miriam Flaud who she coauthored the nonfiction book, Plain Wisdom: An Invitation into an Amish Home and the Hearts of Two Women.

Get notified when Cindy Woodsmall releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sisters of the Quilt Books

When the Heart Cries (2006)Description / Buy at
When the Morning Comes (2007)Description / Buy at
When the Soul Mends (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ada's House Books

The Hope of Refuge (2009)Description / Buy at
The Bridge of Peace (2010)Description / Buy at
The Harvest of Grace (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Apple Ridge Books

The Sound of Sleigh Bells (2009)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Singing (2011)Description / Buy at
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dawn of Christmas (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Amish Vines and Orchards Books

A Season for Tending (2012)Description / Buy at
The Winnowing Season (2013)Description / Buy at
For Every Season (2013)Description / Buy at
Seasons of Tomorrow (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Amish of Summer Grove Books

Ties that Bind (2015)Description / Buy at
Fraying at the Edge (2016)Description / Buy at
Gathering the Threads (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Love Undone (2014)Description / Buy at
The Gift Of Christmas Past (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2017)Description / Buy at
As the Tide Comes In (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Remedy (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2018)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Haven (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Englisch Daughter (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2020)Description / Buy at
Yesterday's Gone (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2022)Description / Buy at
Until Then (With: Erin Woodsmall) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Angel of Forest Hill (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Amish Christmas at North Star: Four Stories of Love and Family(2015)Description / Buy at
21 Days of Love: Stories That Celebrate Treasured Relationships(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: Beginning with The Gift of Christmas Past, all standalone novels are co-authored by Erin Woodsmall.

If You Like Cindy Woodsmall Books, You’ll Love…

Ties That Bind is the first book in the Amish of Summer Grove book series. The book follows young Ariana Brenneman and her complicated relationship with Quill Schlabach. Five years ago, Quill ran off and since then has helped Amish in her town leave the Old Ways behind and into the Englisch life. She feels betrayed by him and when she unexpectedly meets him, she realizes he’s about to help someone help leave. What she doesn’t know is the reasons why and that it is Quill’s goal to protect her. He tries to help her open a cafe as he feels guilt about some secrets he knows that could upend her way of life.

The Sisters of the Quilt is another Amish series by Woodsmall and the first book is called When the Heart Cries. The book sees an Old Order Amish girl named Hannah looking to break custom and marry outside of her community. She has feelings for Mennonite Paul and he has asked her to marry him. She accepts, but she knows that it will change her relationship with her family forever. Shortly after the engagement, a tragedy strikes and Hannah is forced to question everything she has ever believed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cindy Woodsmall Books

Leave a Reply