Daniel Clowes is an American author, screenwriter and cartoonist. He finished high school at the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools and attended the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York, earning his BFA in 1984. When Daniel was four years old, he had an emotional response to a Strange Adventures comic where a family died of heat. His first professional work was for Cracked, which he worked for from 1985 until 1989. That same year, he began his comic book Eightball, which consisted of short pieces that went from comical rant and Freudian analysis to fairy tale and cultural criticism.

Daniel Clowes’ first graphic novel to be published was Like a Velvet Glove Cast in Iron in 1993. Below is a list of Daniel Clowes’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Daniel Clowes releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Like a Velvet Glove Cast in Iron (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Manly World of Lloyd Llewellyn (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Eightball Postcards (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ghost World (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pussey! (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Orgy Bound (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lout Rampage! (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Caricature (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Creeps (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
David Boring (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twentieth Century Eightball (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Scorched Art (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ice Haven (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Art School Confidential (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wilson (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mister Wonderful (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death Ray (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Patience (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Monica (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

#$@&! (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Complete Eightball 1-18 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Mad Playboy of Art (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Big Fat Little Lit(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stuck in the Middle(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Daniel Clowes Books, You’ll Love…

  • Seth
  • Chris Ware
  • Alan Moore

Daniel Clowes Synopsis: David Boring by Daniel Clowes is about a nineteen-year-old security guard with a tortured inner life and an obsessive nature. When he meets the girl of his dreams, things begin to go awry: what seems too good to be true apparently is. And what seems truest in Boring’s life is that, given the right set of circumstances (in this case, an orgiastic cascade of vengeance, humiliation and murder) the primal nature of humankind will come inexorably to the fore.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Daniel Clowes Books

Leave a Reply