David Lindsay (1876-1945) was a British author of literary fiction, science fiction and fantasy novels. He was born in London to a middle class Calvinist family from Scotland. David was educated at Colfe’s School, Lewisham. Although he was awarded a scholarship to go to university, he had to get into insurance at Lloyd’s of London due to financial reasons. Lindsay went into service during World War I, and then moved to Cornwall with his young wife and began writing full-time.

David Lindsay debuted as a published author in 1920 with the novel A Voyage to Arcturus. Below is a list of David Lindsay’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Voyage to Arcturus (1920)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Haunted Woman (1922)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sphinx (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Adventures of Monsieur de Mailly (1926)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Devil's Tor (1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Violet Apple & The Witch (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tales Before Tolkien(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shoreline of Infinity 3(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Adventures of Monsieur de Mailly was published in the USA as A Blade for Sale.

If You Like David Lindsay Books, You’ll Love…

David Lindsay Synopsis: In The Haunted Woman by David Lindsay, Isbel Loment is leading an ordinary, if uneventful, existence. She is engaged to a rather boring man and is just passing through her own life. Everything changes when she and her fiance rent a remote house in Sussex. In the house Isbel discovers a strange staircase few can see, which leads upwards to three rooms, rooms that appear to exist only part of the time or just in a different reality from her own. Her discoveries in this house will change both her life and her destiny forever.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Lindsay Books

Leave a Reply