David Mitchell
David Mitchell is an English author of literary fiction. He was raised in Malvern, Worcestershire and earned his English and American Literature degrees at the University of Kent. He then got his M.A. in Comparative Literature. David always knew he wanted to be a writer, but didn’t do anything about it until he was living in Japan in 1994. Besides England, he has also lived in Italy, Japan (twice) and currently lives in Ireland with his wife Keiko and their two children.

David Mitchell made his debut as a published author in 1999 with the novel Ghostwritten. Below is a list of David Mitchell’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when David Mitchell releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ghostwritten (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Number9Dream (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cloud Atlas (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Swan Green (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bone Clocks (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Slade House (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Utopia Avenue (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Freedom(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I'm With the Bears(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Freeman's: Arrival(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Freeman's Power(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: I’m with the Bears also has stories by Margaret Atwood, Paolo Bacigalupi, T.C. Boyle, Toby Litt, Lydia Millet, Wu Mingi, Nathaniel Rich, Kim Stanley Robinson and Helen Simpson.

If You Like David Mitchell Books, You’ll Love…

David Mitchell Synopsis: Black Swan Green by David Mitchell follows a single year in what is, for thirteen-year-old Jason Taylor, the sleepiest village in muddiest Worcestershire in a dying Cold War England, 1982. But the thirteen chapters, each a short story in its own right, create an exquisitely observed world that is anything but sleepy. A world of Kissingeresque realpolitik enacted in boys’ games on a frozen lake; of “nightcreeping” through the summer backyards of strangers; of the tabloid-fueled thrills of the Falklands War and its human toll; of the cruel, luscious Dawn Madden and her power-hungry boyfriend, Ross Wilcox; of a certain Madame Eva van Outryve de Crommelynck, an elderly bohemian emigre who is both more and less than she appears; of Jason’s search to replace his dead grandfather’s irreplaceable smashed watch before the crime is discovered; of first cigarettes, first kisses, first Duran Duran LPs, and first deaths; of Margaret Thatcher’s recession; of Gypsies camping in the woods and the hysteria they inspire; and, even closer to home, of a slow-motion divorce in four seasons.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Mitchell Books

Leave a Reply