Dean Ing is an American author of science fiction and techno-thriller novels. Aside from being a novelist, Dean served in the U.S. Air Force, and worked as an aerospace engineer and as a university professor. He has been writing professionally since 1977. Dean lives with wife in Oregon.

Dean Ing made his debut as a published novelist in 1979 with the novel Soft Targets. Below is a list of Dean Ing’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Quantrill Books

Publication Order of Kyle Corbett/Aerospace Systems Books

The Ransom of Black Stealth One (1989)Description / Buy at
The Nemesis Mission (1991)Description / Buy at
Butcher Bird (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Man-Kzin Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Soft Targets (1979)Description / Buy at
Anasazi (1980)Description / Buy at
Pulling Through (1983)Description / Buy at
Chaos in Lagrangia (With: Mack Reynolds) (1984)Description / Buy at
The Lagrangists (1984)Description / Buy at
Eternity (With: Mack Reynolds) (1984)Description / Buy at
Home Sweet Home 2010 A. D. (With: Mack Reynolds) (1984)Description / Buy at
The Other Time (With: Mack Reynolds) (1984)Description / Buy at
Trojan Orbit (With: Mack Reynolds) (1985)Description / Buy at
Deathwish World (With: Mack Reynolds) (1986)Description / Buy at
Blood of Eagles (1987)Description / Buy at
The Chernobyl Syndrome (1988)Description / Buy at
The Big Lifters (1988)Description / Buy at
Spooker (1995)Description / Buy at
Flying To Pieces (1997)Description / Buy at
The Skins Of Dead Men (1998)Description / Buy at
Loose Cannon (2000)Description / Buy at
The Rackham Files (2004)Description / Buy at
Gyp Artist (2012)Description / Buy at
It's Up to Charlie Hardin (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Dan Ing Non-Fiction Books

Mutual Assured Survival (With: Jerry Pournelle) (1984)Description / Buy at
Future of Flight (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Man-Kzin Wars Books

(with Theodore Sturgeon, Larry Niven, Robert A. Heinlein, S.M. Stirling, Spider Robinson, Jerry Pournelle, Robert Sheckley, Gregory Benford, Anthony Boucher, William Goldman, Paul Chafe, Jim Baen, Mark O. Martin, Matthew Harrington, Hal Colebatch, Jessica Q. Fox)

The Man-Kzin Wars (By: Larry Niven) (1988)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars II (By: Larry Niven,S.M. Stirling,Jerry Pournelle) (1989)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars III (By: Larry Niven) (1990)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars IV (By: S.M. Stirling) (1991)Description / Buy at
The Children's Hour (By: S.M. Stirling,Jerry Pournelle) (1991)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars V (By: Jerry Pournelle) (1992)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars VI (By: Gregory Benford,Mark O. Martin) (1994)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars VII (By: Larry Niven,Gregory Benford,Paul Chafe) (1995)Description / Buy at
A Darker Geometry (By: Gregory Benford) (1996)Description / Buy at
The Best of All Possible Wars (By: S.M. Stirling,Robert Sheckley) (1998)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars VIII: Choosing Names (By: Larry Niven) (1998)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars IX (By: Jim Baen) (2001)Description / Buy at
The House of the Kzinti (By: Jerry Pournelle) (2002)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars X: The Wunder War (By: Larry Niven) (2003)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars XI (By: Matthew Harrington) (2005)Description / Buy at
Destiny's Forge (By: Paul Chafe) (2006)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars XII (By: Larry Niven) (2009)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars XIII (By: Larry Niven) (2012)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars XIV (By: Larry Niven) (2013)Description / Buy at
Treasure Planet (By: Larry Niven,Hal Colebatch,Jessica Q. Fox) (2014)Description / Buy at
Man-Kzin Wars XV (By: Larry Niven) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Analog Annual(1976)Description / Buy at
The Best of All Possible Worlds(1980)Description / Buy at
The First Omni Book of Science Fiction(1983)Description / Buy at
Combat(2000)Description / Buy at
Combat, Vol. 2(2002)Description / Buy at
Victory(2003)Description / Buy at
Victory: On the Attack(2004)Description / Buy at

Notes: The novels Eternity, Home, Sweet Home 2010 A.D., The Other Time, Trojan Orbit and Deathwish World were co-authored by Mack Reynolds.

Mutual Assured Survival was written with Jerry Pournelle. The Future of Flight was co-authored by Leik Myrabo.

If You Like Dean Ing Books, You’ll Love…

Dean Ing Synopses: Cathouse by Dean Ing is a novel in the multi-author Man-Kzin series. Carroll Locklear was stranded on a planet with Kzinti. He hadn’t planned it that way; what sane human would want to be trapped cheek by furry jowl with a bunch of homicidal bearcats? But when he was taken prisoner, somehow the subject of Locklear’s likes and dislikes never came up, and now he finds himself stranded on a planet of prehistoric Kzinti. To survive he must find common cause, if not with the males then with the females of that antique species.

Butcher Bird is a standalone title by Dean Ing. Learning of the existence of a strange hunter-killer aircraft that strikes down men in the Middle East before moving to the Western Hemisphere, a U.S. intelligence team must discover who is in control of it before it finds itself the next target.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dean Ing Books

Leave a Reply