D.J. Taylor is an English author of fiction and non-fiction books. He is a critic, novelist and biographer. David John Taylor attended school in Norwich, and studied Modern History at St. John’s College, Oxford. Some of the biographies he has written include William Makepeace Thackeray and George Orwell. Taylor currently contributes to multiple publications, such as The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian and The Independent. He lives in Norwich, England.

D.J. Taylor made his debut as a published author in 1986 with the novel Great Eastern Land. Below is a list of D.J. Taylor’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when D.J. Taylor releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Great Eastern Land (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Real Life (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
English Settlement (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Trespass (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Comedy Man (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kept (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ask Alice (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
At the Chime of a City Clock (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Derby Day (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Secondhand Daylight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Windsor Faction (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

From the Heart (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

After Bathing at Baxter's (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wrote for Luck (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Vain Conceit (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
After the War (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Thackeray (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Orwell (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bright Young People (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On The Corinthian Spirit (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What You Didn't Miss (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Prose Factory (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The New Book of Snobs (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
'Rock and Roll is Life' (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On 1984 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

My Favorite Year of Football Writing(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like D.J. Taylor Books, You’ll Love…

  • Kate Williams
  • Edward St. Aubyn
  • Patrick McGuinness

D.J. Taylor Synopses: Real Life is a standalone novel by D.J. Taylor. In a remote Eastern village with a bazaar, a brothel and a corrupt police commissioner, David Castel settles down to compile his notebooks. As he writes his musings intertwine with dangerous speculations from the village, and the past and present begin to collide in unexpected ways.

At the Chime of a City of Clock is a standalone novel by D.J. Taylor. The novel is set in 1931 in Bayswater, London. James Ross, an aspiring writer whose stories nobody will buy, is reduced to door-to-door selling. He meets glamorous Suzi, but their relationship turns out to be a source of bafflement: who is her boss, the mysterious Mr. Rasmussen, and why is he so interested in the premises above a jeweller’s shop?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of D.J. Taylor Books

Leave a Reply