EE Doc Smith
Edward Elmer “Doc” Smith, Ph.D (1890-1965) was an American author of science fiction novels, and often considered the father of the space opera subgenre. In addition to being a novelist, Smith was also a food engineer. He wrote the Lensman, Skylark and Family d’Alembert series. Smith preferred to use technologies in his fiction that were feasible, saying “the more highly improbable a concept is — short of being contrary to mathematics whose fundamental operations involve no neglect of infinitesimals — the better I like it”.

E.E. “Doc” Smith’s first novel was The Skylark of Space, published in 1928. His final credited published work was Revolt of the Galaxy (with Stephen Goldin), published long after his death in 1983. Below is a list of E.E. “Doc” Smith’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Skylark Books

The Skylark of Space (1928)Description / Buy at
Skylark Three (1930)Description / Buy at
Skylark of Valeron (1934)Description / Buy at
Skylark Duquesne (1965)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lensman Books

Galatic Patrol (1937)Description / Buy at
Children of the Lens (1947)Description / Buy at
Triplanetary (1948)Description / Buy at
First Lensman (1950)Description / Buy at
Gray Lensman (1951)Description / Buy at
Second Stage Lensman (1953)Description / Buy at
Masters of the Vortex (1960)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Subspace Books

Subspace Explorers (1965)Description / Buy at
Subspace Encounter (1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Family d'Alembert Books

(with Stephen Goldin)

Imperial Stars, Stranglers' Moons, The Clockwork Traitor, Getaway World (By: Stephen Goldin) (0)Description / Buy at
The Imperial Stars (1976)Description / Buy at
Stranglers' Moon (1976)Description / Buy at
The Clockwork Traitor (1977)Description / Buy at
Getaway World (1977)Description / Buy at
The Purity Plot (1978)Description / Buy at
Appointment at Bloodstar (1978)Description / Buy at
Planet of Treachery (1981)Description / Buy at
Eclipsing Binaries (1983)Description / Buy at
The Omicron Invasion (1984)Description / Buy at
Revolt of the Galaxy (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lord Tedric Books

(with Gordon Eklund)

Lord Tedric (1978)Description / Buy at
The Space Pirates (1979)Description / Buy at
Alien Realms (1980)Description / Buy at
Black Knight of the Iron Sphere (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of E.E. "Doc" Smith Standalone Novels

Spacehounds of IPC (1931)Description / Buy at
Masters Of Space (1961)Description / Buy at
The Galaxy Primes (1965)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Astounding Stories, October 1937(1937)Description / Buy at
Astounding Science Fiction, November 1941(1941)Description / Buy at
Astounding Stories, November 1937(2008)Description / Buy at
The Golden Age of Science Fiction - Volume XIV(2018)Description / Buy at
Infinite Stars(2019)Description / Buy at
Comet: Stories of Super Time and Space(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Vortex Blaster was also published as Masters of the Vortex. Appointment at Bloodstar was also titled The Bloodstar Conspiracy. The Family d’Alembert series was written with Stephen Goldin. The Lord Tedric series was written with Gordon Eklund. The Skylark of Space was co-authored by Lee H. Garby. Masters of Space was co-authored by E. Everett Evans.

If You Like E.E. “Doc” Smith Books, You’ll Love…

E.E. “Doc” Smith Synopsis: Spacehounds of IPC is a standalone novel by E.E. “Doc” Smith. When the Inter-Planetary Corporation’s starship Arcturus left on a routine flight to Mars, it turned into a disaster. Attacked by an unidentified spaceship, the Arcturus crashes on Jupiter’s moon Ganymede. The surviving passengers must learn to master Ganymede’s primeval terrors, build a new spacecraft, and deal with the warring intelligences of the Jovian system. Of course, true spacehounds can do anything, given enough time, resources and freedom from attack.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of E.E. “Doc” Smith Books

Leave a Reply