Elinor Lipman is an American author. She was born and raised in Lowell, Massachusetts. She graduated from Simmons College, where she studied journalism. She has taught writing at various Massachusetts colleges (including Simmons). Elinor’s novels are humourous takes on contemporary American society. Elinor splits her time between Manhattan and Holmes, New York.

Elinor Lipman made her debut as a published author in 1987 with the short story collection Into Love and Out Again. Her debut novel was Then She Found Me in 1990. Below is a list of Elinor Lipman’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Elinor Lipman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Then She Found Me (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Way Men Act (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Isabel's Bed (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Inn at Lake Devine (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ladies' Man (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dearly Departed (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pursuit of Alice Thrift (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
My Latest Grievance (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Family Man (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The View from Penthouse B (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Turpentine Lane (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Good Riddance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rachel to the Rescue (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ms. Demeanor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Tweet Land of Liberty (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I Can't Complain (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Into Love and Out Again (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

What My Mother Gave Me(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elinor Lipman Books, You’ll Love…

Elinor Lipman Synopses: Then She Found Me is a standalone title by Elinor Lipman. April Epner teaches high school Latin, wears flannel jumpers, and is used to having her evenings free. Bernice Graverman brandishes designer labels, favors toad-sized earrings, and hosts her own tacky TV talk show: Bernice G! But behind the glitz and glam, Bernice has followed the life of the daughter she gave up for adoption thirty-six years ago. Now that she’s got her act together, she’s aiming to be a mom like she always knew she could. And she’s hurtling straight for April’s quiet little life…

In The Family Man by Elinor Lipman, a hysterical phone call from his ex-wife and a familiar face in a photograph upend Henry Archer’s life. Henry is a lawyer, an old-fashioned man, gay, successful, and lonely. Thalia, his stepdaughter from a misbegotten marriage, is now twenty-nine, an actress, hopeful and estranged from her newly widowed crackpot mother. Hoping it will lead to better things for her career, Thalia poses as the girlfriend of a former sitcom star and current horror-movie luminary who is down on his romantic luck. When Thalia and her complicated social life move into the basement of Henry’s Upper West Side townhouse, she finds a champion in her long-lost father, and he finds new life – and maybe even new love – in the commotion.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elinor Lipman Books

Leave a Reply