Elizabeth McCracken is an author best known for her books Here’s Your Hat What’s Your Hurry, The Giant’s House, Niagara Falls All Over Again, and Bowlaway, among others. Her books have been extremely well reviewed and she has received numerous grants and fellowships.

In addition to her writing, she has also taught creative writing at Western Michigan University, the University of Oregon, the University of Houston, and the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop. She is also the James A. Michener Chair in Fiction at the University of Texas, Austin.

Get notified when Elizabeth McCracken releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Giant's House (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Niagara Falls All Over Again (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bowlaway (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hero of This Book (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

Thunderstruck & Other Stories (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Robinson Crusoe at the Waterpark (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Souvenir Museum (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Art of the Story Books

A Sportsman's Notebook (By: Ivan Turgenev) (1852)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The General Zapped an Angel (By: Howard Fast) (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Garden of the North American Martyrs (By: Tobias Wolff) (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Essential Tales of Chekhov (By: Anton Chekhov) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Garden Party and Other Stories (By: Katherine Mansfield) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wild Nights! (By: Joyce Carol Oates) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Continent (By: Jim Crace) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tunneling to the Center of the Earth (By: Kevin Wilson) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Monstress (By: Lysley Tenorio) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Essential Tales Of Chekhov Deluxe Edition (By: Anton Chekhov) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mr. and Mrs. Baby (By: Mark Strand) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Vanishing Princess (By: Jenny Diski) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
We Are Taking Only What We Need (By: Stephanie Powell Watts) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unclean Jobs for Women and Girls (By: Alissa Nutting) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Catastrophe and Other Stories (By: Dino Buzzati) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Here's Your Hat What's Your Hurry (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hue and Cry (By: Edward P. Jones,James McPherson) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hurly Burly and Other Stories (By: Russell Banks,A.E. Coppard) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Loss of Memory Is Only Temporary (By: Francine Prose,Johanna Kaplan) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 54: The Best of Young American Novelists(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret Society of Demolition Writers(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best American Short Stories 2015(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elizabeth McCracken Books, You’ll Like…

Bowlaway: A Novel is one of McCracken’s best reviewed novels. Nobody knows much about Bertha Truitt. She was discovered unconscious in a New England cemetery with nothing but a bowling ball, a candlepin and fifteen pounds of gold on her. The townspeople have a lot of questions about her, but she’s not telling and the whispers only increase when she marries the doctor who saved her life. Bertha opens a bowling alley in the town that becomes the center of the happenings, but when Bertha passes away in a freak accident the story of Bertha gets even weirder when a son no one knew about shows up to claim ownership of the bowling alley.

Another good book by McCracken is The Giant’s House: A Romance. Peggy Cort is 26 in 1950 and feels like her chance at love is over. She’s working as a librarian and ready to resign herself to never finding love until James Carlson Sweatt comes into her library. He is not what she was expecting though as he is an 11-year old boy with the size of a giant. They are an odd couple for friendship, but soon realize that they are the only ones who can really understand each other.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth McCracken Books

Leave a Reply