Gail Carson Levine is an American author best known for writing the Newbery Honor winning book and children’s classic, Ella Enchanted. She is also the author of Fairest which won a Best Book of the Year for Publishers Weekly and School Library Journal.

Gail grew up in Manhattan and started writing short stories and poems from a young age. She headed to Antioch College in Yellow Springs, Ohio, and then City College of New York where she majored in Philosophy. She would work for the New York State Government after college before deciding to give writing a shot. She took writing classes and joined critique groups, and received numerous rejections before finally getting Ella Enchanted published.

Get notified when Gail Carson Levine releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ella Enchanted Books

Ella Enchanted (1997)Description / Buy at
The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001)Description / Buy at
Fairest (2006)Description / Buy at
Ever (2008)Description / Buy at
The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre (2017)Description / Buy at
Ogre Enchanted (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Princess Tales Books

The Fairy's Mistake (1999)Description / Buy at
The Princess Test (1999)Description / Buy at
Princess Sonora and the Long Sleep (1999)Description / Buy at
Cinderellis and the Glass Hill (2000)Description / Buy at
For Biddle's Sake (2002)Description / Buy at
The Fairy's Return (2002)Description / Buy at
The Fairy's Return and Other Princess Tales (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of A Tale of Two Castles Books

A Tale of Two Castles (2011)Description / Buy at
Stolen Magic (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dave at Night (1999)Description / Buy at
The Wish (2000)Description / Buy at
Betsy Who Cried Wolf (2002)Description / Buy at
Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg (2005)Description / Buy at
Fairy Haven and the Quest for the Wand (2007)Description / Buy at
Fairies and the Quest for Never Land (2010)Description / Buy at
A Ceiling Made of Eggshells (2020)Description / Buy at
Sparrows in the Wind (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It (2012)Description / Buy at
Transient (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Betsy Red Hoodie (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Magic (2006)Description / Buy at
Writer to Writer (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Unexpected(2005)Description / Buy at
Be Careful What You Wish For(2007)Description / Buy at
Half-Minute Horrors(2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gail Carson Levine Books, You’ll Love…

Ella Enchanted is the story of Ella of Frell who received a foolish fairy’s gift at her birth, the “gift” of obedience. This gift means that she must obey any order, whether it’s good for her or not. She would even have to chop her own head off if ordered to, but Ella is not accepting of this fate. Tired of this “gift”, Ella goes on a quest to break the curse. A quest that will take her to the world of princes, ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, and fairy godmothers.

Gail also write A Tale of Two Cities which is the first book in the series of the same name. The story follows Elodie as she arrives in the town of Two Castles and becomes the assistant to a brilliant dragon named Meenore. She works with the dragon to solve mysteries and their latest case involves a plot against the town’s shape-shifting ogre. In order to find out who is doing this, Elodies must disguise herself amid a cast of characters that includes a greedy king, a giddy princess, and a handsome cat trainer.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gail Carson Levine Books

Leave a Reply