James Sallis is an American author best known for writing and creating the Lew Griffin series of books. He is also the author of Drive which was later adapted into a film that was recognized at the Cannes film festival.

James grew up in Arkansas on the banks of Mississippi. His brother, John, is a philosopher who has also published numerous books. In addition to writing, James worked as a reviewer for numerous periodicals over the years. Sallis is the recipient of a lifetime achievement award from Bouchercon, the Hammett Award for literary excellence in crime writing, and the Grand Prix de Littérature policière

Get notified when James Sallis releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Lew Griffin Books

Publication Order of Turner Books

Publication Order of Drive Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Renderings (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Will Have Your Eyes (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Killer Is Dying (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Others of My Kind (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Willnot (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sarah Jane (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

More Light (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What You Were Fighting For (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

Sorrow's Kitchen Poems (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time's Hammers: The Collected Short Fiction of James Sallis (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A City Equal to My Desire (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Limits of the Sensible World (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Potato Tree (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rain's Eagerness (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Night's Gonna Catch Me Here (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night's Pardons (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dayenu and Other Stories (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Guitar Players: One Instrument and Its Masters in American Music (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Guitar in Jazz: An Anthology (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ash of Stars (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Difficult Lives (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gently into the Land of the Meateaters (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Chester Himes: A Life (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Difficult Lives Hitching Rides (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Orbit 3(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Orbit 6(1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
New Worlds 6(1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lone Star Universe(1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Whispers(1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction Volume 104 Number 2, February 2003(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Breaking Windows(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Phoenix Noir(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best of Talebones(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Books to Die For(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Borderland Noir(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Highway Kind(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bullets and Other Hurting Things: A Tribute to Bill Crider(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like James Sallis Books, You’ll Love…

Drive is the book by Sallis that later became a hit movie starring Ryan Gosling. The book tells the story of Driver, a man who does stunt driving by day and then spends his night driving for criminals. He’s one of the best drivers you will ever see as he maintains laser focus on the job and lives completely in the moment. He doesn’t participate in violence, he just drives, but when he is double-crossed by those who hired him for a job – he will end up breaking that rule.

Sallis is also the author of Sarah Jane. The title character has a complicated history, but she doesn’t let that get in the way of being a good cop. This book is an interesting character study as it covers Sarah’s life from her early days on the chicken farm, to running away, to a stint in the army, and a failed marriage. Ultimately, the story leads her to how she become the sheriff of this small town and her investigation into the disappearance of the sheriff she replaced. This is another classic noir from Sallis that tells of the tender aspects of human nature.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Sallis Books

Leave a Reply