Jim C. Hines is an American author best known for writinig the Goblin Quest series, the Magic Ex Libris series, and the Princess series. He made his debut in 2006 with the release of Goblin Quest, the first book in the series.

Hines got his start as a short story writer as he won the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Award in 1998 for his story “Blade of the Bunny”. In addition to his work as a writer, Hines has volunteered as a crisis counselor in East Lansing, Michigan. He also worked as the Male Outreach Coordinator for the MSU Safe Place. Hines got some notoriety for the blog “Striking a Pose (Women and Fantasy Covers)” which covered the unrealistic poses women are often drawn to make on fantasy book covers.

Get notified when Jim C. Hines releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jig the Goblin Books

Publication Order of Princess Books

The Stepsister Scheme (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mermaid's Madness (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Red Hood's Revenge (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Snow Queen's Shadow (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Faery Taile Project Books

Red's Tale / Lobo's Tale (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Magic Ex Libris Books

Publication Order of Fable Books

Publication Order of Janitors of the Post-Apocalypse Books

Terminal Alliance (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Terminal Uprising (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Terminal Peace (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Rise of the Spider Goddess (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tamora Carter: Goblin Queen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Amelia Sand and the Silver Queens (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Goldfish Dreams (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kitemaster and Other Stories (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sister of the Hedge & Other Stories (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Goblin Master's Grimoire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Invisible: Personal Essays on Representation in SF/F (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Invisible 2 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Invisible 3 (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Book of All Flesh(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Book of More Flesh(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Modern Magic(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bash Down the Door and Slice Open the Badguy(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Prime Codex(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Magic in the Mirrorstone(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Misspelled(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Clarkesworld Magazine, Issue 25, October 2008(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time in a Bottle, Volume 1(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Happily Ever After(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When the Hero Comes Home(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When the Villain Comes Home(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Modern Fae's Guide to Surviving Humanity(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Clarkesworld: Year Three(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unidentified Funny Objects 2(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Speculative Fiction 2013(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unidentified Funny Objects 3(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death of All Things(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unidentified Funny Objects 6(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Robots vs. Fairies(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Where the Veil Is Thin(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Familiars(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jim C. Hines Books, You’ll Love…

Libriomancer is the first book in the Magic Ex Libris series. The book follows Isaac Vainio who is a member of the secret organization known as Libriomancy. They have the ability to reach into books and draw objects from them. However, the powers take an interesting twist when Isaac is attacked by a vampire from a book. It turns out that the vampires have been leaking out and attacking other magic users. Isaac will hunt for the why which takes him deep into the secrets of Libriomancy.

The book that got Hines started was Goblin Quest. In this one, Jig is a goblin that only wants to be left alone. His wishes aren’t granted though and he ends up being drafted to guard the goblin tunnels against intruders. However, bravery is not his strong suit so when the intruders come, Jig surrenders. This leads to the goblin’s quest as he is forced to serve as a group of adventurers guide through the tunnels beneath the mountain where they hope to find an ancient magical artifact.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jim C. Hines Books

Leave a Reply