Joan Druett is a New Zealand author of historical fiction and non-fiction books. She specializes in maritime history. Joan earned her B.A. in English literature from Victoria University of Wellington. She worked as a biology and English literature teacher for years. She also travelled abroad to Canada, the United Kingdom, and the Middle East. Joan didn’t get published until she was 40, but she had always wanted to since she was a teenager. She and her husband Ron have two sons and six grandchildren.

Joan Druett made her debut as a novelist in 1988 with the standalone novel Abigail. Below is a list of Joan Druett’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Joan Druett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Wiki Coffin Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Abigail / A Love of Adventure (1988)Description / Buy at
A Promise of Gold (1990)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Brian Boru (1992)Description / Buy at
The Money Ship (2017)Description / Buy at
Finale (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Exotic Intruders (1983)Description / Buy at
Fulbright in New Zealand (1988)Description / Buy at
Petticoat Whalers (1992)Description / Buy at
The Sailing Circle (1995)Description / Buy at
Hen Frigates (1998)Description / Buy at
She Captains (2000)Description / Buy at
Rough Medicine (2000)Description / Buy at
In the Wake of Madness (2003)Description / Buy at
Island of the Lost (2007)Description / Buy at
Tupaia (2010)Description / Buy at
The Elephant Voyage (2012)Description / Buy at
Eleanor's Odyssey (2014)Description / Buy at
Lady Castaways (2015)Description / Buy at
The Notorious Captain Hayes (2016)Description / Buy at
The Discovery of Tahiti (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joan Druett Books, You’ll Love…

  • Christina Thompson
  • Stacy Schiff
  • Robert McKee

Joan Druett Synopsis: The Money Ship by Joan Druett is a standalone novel. Oriental adventurer Captain Rochester spun an entrancing tale to Jerusha, seafaring daughter of Captain Michael Gardiner — a story of a money ship, hidden in the deep waters of the South China Sea, which was nothing less than the lost trove of the pirate Hochman. As Jerusha was to discover, the clues that pointed the way to fabled riches were indeed strange — a haunted islet on an estuary in Borneo, an obelisk with a carving of a rampant dragon, a legend of kings and native priests at war, and of magically triggered tempests that swept warriors upriver. And even if the clues were solved, the route to riches was tortuous, involving treachery, adultery, murder, labyrinthine Malayan politics… and, ultimately, Jerusha’s own arranged marriage.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joan Druett Books

Leave a Reply