John Norman
John Norman is an American author of science fiction novels. He is best known for his Gor series and also wrote the Telnarian Histories trilogy. Norman is also a philosophy professor and has published several philosophy books under his real name of John Lange. Philosophy is also a major part of his fiction, as his novels often contain lengthy dissertations of philosophy, criticizing society. In his novels, only the strongest survive – the winner gains the territory, resources and the mates.

John Norman became a published novelist in 1966 with the novel Tarnsman of Gor. It began his Gor series, which includes the vast majority of his work. Below is a list of John Norman’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when John Norman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gor Books

Tarnsman of Gor (1967)Description / Buy at
Outlaw of Gor (1967)Description / Buy at
Priest-Kings of Gor (1968)Description / Buy at
Nomads of Gor (1969)Description / Buy at
Assassin of Gor (1970)Description / Buy at
Raiders of Gor (1971)Description / Buy at
Captive of Gor (1972)Description / Buy at
Hunters of Gor (1974)Description / Buy at
Marauders of Gor (1975)Description / Buy at
Tribesmen of Gor (1976)Description / Buy at
Slave Girl of Gor (1977)Description / Buy at
Beasts of Gor (1978)Description / Buy at
Explorers of Gor (1979)Description / Buy at
Fighting Slave of Gor (1980)Description / Buy at
Rogue of Gor (1981)Description / Buy at
Guardsman of Gor (1981)Description / Buy at
Savages of Gor (1982)Description / Buy at
Blood Brothers of Gor (1982)Description / Buy at
Kajira of Gor (1983)Description / Buy at
Players of Gor (1984)Description / Buy at
Mercenaries of Gor (1985)Description / Buy at
Dancer of Gor (1985)Description / Buy at
Renegades of Gor (1986)Description / Buy at
Vagabonds of Gor (1987)Description / Buy at
Magicians of Gor (1988)Description / Buy at
Witness of Gor (2001)Description / Buy at
Prize of Gor (2008)Description / Buy at
Kur of Gor (2009)Description / Buy at
Swordsmen of Gor (2010)Description / Buy at
Mariners of Gor (2011)Description / Buy at
Conspirators of Gor (2012)Description / Buy at
Smugglers of Gor (2012)Description / Buy at
Rebels of Gor (2013)Description / Buy at
Plunder of Gor (2016)Description / Buy at
Quarry of Gor (2019)Description / Buy at
Avengers of Gor (2021)Description / Buy at
Warriors of Gor (2022)Description / Buy at
Treasure of Gor (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Telnarian Histories Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ghost Dance (1970)Description / Buy at
Time Slave (1975)Description / Buy at
The Totems of Abydos (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Norman Invasions (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Cognitivity Paradox: An Inquiry Concerning the Claims of Philosophy (1970)Description / Buy at
Imaginative Sex (1974)Description / Buy at
The Philosophy of Historiography (2010)Description / Buy at
Philosophy and the Challenge of the Future (2015)Description / Buy at
Between Iraq and a Hard Place (2018)Description / Buy at
The Artist's Companion, and Manufacturer's Guide, Consisting of the Most Valuable Secrets in Arts and Trades (2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: The non-fiction books The Cognitivity Paradox: An Inquiry Concerning the Claims of Philosophy, The Philosophy of Historiography and Philosophy and the Challenge of the Future were written under his real name of John Lange.

If You Like John Norman Books, You’ll Love…

John Norman Synopsis: Norman Invasions is the first (and thus far, only) short story collection by John Norman, creator of Gor. The collection contains Gorean-themed stories that includes female slavery and submission. As you can expect in a work of John Norman, philosophical monologues, abstract dialogues and various ruminations are all present. The stories range from sci-fi to horror to mainstream.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Norman Books

Leave a Reply