John Pilger is an Australian author of non-fiction books, journalist and documentary filmmaker. He has been named Britain’s Journalist of the Year two times and has won awards in both the UK and US.

John Pilger made his debut as a published author in 1976 with the book The Last Day. Below is a list of John Pilger’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Last Day (1976)Description / Buy at
A Secret Country: The Hidden Australia (1980)Description / Buy at
Aftermath (1982)Description / Buy at
The Outsiders (1985)Description / Buy at
Heroes (1986)Description / Buy at
Distant Voices (1992)Description / Buy at
Hidden Agendas (1998)Description / Buy at
Reporting The World (2001)Description / Buy at
New Rulers of the World (2002)Description / Buy at
Tell Me No Lies (2004)Description / Buy at
Freedom Next Time (2006)Description / Buy at
South Africa (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Louder than Bombs: Interviews from The Progressive Magazine(2004)Description / Buy at
Voices for Peace: War, Resistance and America's Quest for Full-Spectrum Dominance(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Pilger Books, You’ll Love…

  • Naomi Klein
  • David Denby
  • Noam Chomsky

John Pilger Synopsis: In Freedom Next Time by John Pilger, Pilger examines five countries, each of which has experienced a long struggle for freedom, where the people, having shed blood and dreams, are still waiting. Afghanistan, Iraq and South Africa had the promise of hope, even an “official” freedom, but these divided societies have not enjoyed true freedom. In Palestine, the cycle of violence continues with no resolution in sight. And the island of Diego Garcia in the Indian Ocean is a microcosm of the ruthlessness of great powers. Sold by the British to the American military in the 1960s, the island’s indigenous population — descended from slaves forcibly removed to the slums of Port Louis in Mauritius – continues to fight for a return to their homeland. The island remains the United States’s third biggest military base – a base from which the Americans are able to launch attacks against the Middle East. Once again John Pilger gives voice to people living through momentous times and, in gripping detail, reveals the lives behind the headlines.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Pilger Books

Leave a Reply