John Steinbeck (1902-1968) was an American author. Steinbeck was a controversial figure during his lifetime for his leftist politics. During his literary career, he wrote 16 novels, 6 non-fiction books and 5 short story collections. He is best known for his novels Of Mice and Men (technically a novella), The Grapes of Wrath and East of Eden. The first two of those novels, along with In Dubious Battle, were considered to be his “California series,” set during the Dust Bowl.

John Steinbeck became a published author in 1929 with the novel Cup of Gold. Steinbeck was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1962. Below is a list of John Steinbeck’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Cannery Row Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Cup of Gold (1929)Description / Buy at
The Pastures of Heaven (1932)Description / Buy at
To a God Unknown (1933)Description / Buy at
The Red Pony (1933)Description / Buy at
Tortilla Flat (1935)Description / Buy at
In Dubious Battle (1936)Description / Buy at
Nothing So Monstrous (1936)Description / Buy at
Of Mice and Men (1937)Description / Buy at
The Grapes of Wrath (1939)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Village (1941)Description / Buy at
The Wayward Bus (1947)Description / Buy at
The Pearl (1947)Description / Buy at
Burning Bright (1950)Description / Buy at
East of Eden (1952)Description / Buy at
The Short Reign of Pippin IV (1957)Description / Buy at
The Winter of Our Discontent (1961)Description / Buy at
The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights (1976)Description / Buy at
The Gift (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

The Long Valley (1938)Description / Buy at
The Short Novels of John Steinbeck (1953)Description / Buy at
The Chrysanthemums and Other Stories (1979)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Harvest Gypsies (1936)Description / Buy at
Bombs Away (1942)Description / Buy at
A Russian Journal (1948)Description / Buy at
Sea of Cortez (1951)Description / Buy at
The Log from the 'Sea of Cortez' (1951)Description / Buy at
Once There Was a War (1958)Description / Buy at
Travels with Charley (1962)Description / Buy at
America and Americans (1966)Description / Buy at
In Touch (1969)Description / Buy at
Journal of a Novel (1969)Description / Buy at
On Writing (1988)Description / Buy at
Working Days (1989)Description / Buy at
Of Men and Their Making (2002)Description / Buy at
Steinbeck in Vietnam (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Short Masterpieces of Mystery(1950)Description / Buy at
50 Great Short Stories(1952)Description / Buy at
Short Story Masterpieces: 35 Classic American and British Stories from the First Half of the 20th Century(1954)Description / Buy at
This Was Your War(1960)Description / Buy at
Editors on Editing(1962)Description / Buy at
50 Great American Short Stories(1963)Description / Buy at
21 Great Stories(1969)Description / Buy at
Unknown California(1985)Description / Buy at
The Pendragon Chronicles: Heroic Fantasy from the Time of King Arthur(1989)Description / Buy at
The Short Story: 30 Masterpieces(1992)Description / Buy at
Win, Lose or Die(1996)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories of the Century(2000)Description / Buy at
40 Short Stories: A Portable Anthology(2000)Description / Buy at
The Book of Spies: An Anthology of Literary Espionage(2003)Description / Buy at
The Little Big Book of California(2005)Description / Buy at
Not To Be Read Until I Am Dead: And Other Stuff(2014)Description / Buy at
Letters to Change the World: From Pankhurst to Orwell(2018)Description / Buy at
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Steinbeck Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Steinbeck Books

2 Responses to “Order of John Steinbeck Books”

  1. liam tomlington: 8 years ago

    this is wrong . he couldn’t of released a book in 1992 because he died of a heart disease in 1968


    • Joshua: 5 years ago

      maybe it was a novel that he wrote but never released. and then after his death the family or publishing company released it.


Leave a Reply