Lynne Truss is an English author of literary fiction and non-fiction books. She began as a literary editor until she got sidetracked. Lynne spent six years as a TV critic for The Times (London), and then four years as a sports columnist for the same publication. She won Columnist of the Year for her work for Women’s Journal. Lynne lives in Brighton, England.

Lynne Truss debuted as a novelist in 1994 with the novel With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed. Below is a list of Lynne Truss’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Lynne Truss releases a new book at

Publication Order of Constable Twitten Books

A Shot in the Dark (2018)Description / Buy at
The Man That Got Away (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder by Milk Bottle (2020)Description / Buy at
See the Bunny Run / Psycho by the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Steine Books

Inspector Steine - Series One (2008)Description / Buy at
Casebook Of Inspector Steine (2009)Description / Buy at
The Adventures of Inspector Steine (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tennyson’s Gift (1997)Description / Buy at
Going Loco (1999)Description / Buy at
With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed (2004)Description / Buy at
Cat Out of Hell (2014)Description / Buy at
The Lunar Cats (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Certain Age (2005)Description / Buy at
Natter from the Natural World (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Making the Cat Laugh (1995)Description / Buy at
Tennyson and His Circle (1999)Description / Buy at
Glued to the Gogglebox: 50 Years of British Television (2003)Description / Buy at
Eats, Shoots & Leaves (2003)Description / Buy at
Talk to the Hand (2005)Description / Buy at
The Girl's Like Spaghetti (2007)Description / Buy at
Twenty-Odd Ducks (2008)Description / Buy at
Get Her Off the Pitch! (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Midsummer Nights(2009)Description / Buy at
How Rude! Modern Manners Defined(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lynne Truss Books, You’ll Love…

Lynne Truss Synopses: The Lunar Cats is a standalone novel by Lynne Truss. When you are an inoffensive retired librarian with bitter personal experience of Evil Talking Cats, do you rescue a kitten from the cold on a December night? Do you follow up news items about cats digging in graveyards? Do you inquire into long-ago cats who voyaged around the world with Captain Cook? Well, yes. If you are Alec Charlesworth that is precisely what you do – with unexpected and terrifying consequences…

Going Loco is a standalone title by Lynne Truss. Belinda Johansson is a woman frantic, overwhelmed by the demands of work and home. Having it all? Belinda doesn’t want any of it. Deep in research for her magnum opus – a definitive account of the doppelganger in classic gothic fiction – she fails to notice the echoes of these ghoulish tales disturbingly close at hand. For not only is the cleaning lady taking over her life, but the identity of her husband, Stefan, is also in question. Is he a harmless geneticist from Sweden, or actually a cunning clone? Why is the cleaning lady’s previous employer having a breakdown, and what on earth has the rat circus got to do with any of this?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lynne Truss Books

Leave a Reply