Maggie Furey (1955-2016) an English author of YA fantasy novels. She is best known for her Artefacts of Power series. Originally from Northumberland, Maggie was a qualified teacher, and reviewed books for BBC Radio, was an advisor for the Durham Reading Resources Centre, and organized book fairs. Maggie was a long-time resident of County Wicklow, Ireland.

Maggie Furey made her debut as a published novelist in 1994 with the novel Aurian. Below is a list of Maggie Furey’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Artefacts of Power Books

Publication Order of Chronicles of the Xandim Books

Heritage of the Xandim (2009)Description / Buy at
Exodus of the Xandim (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shadowleague Books

The Heart of Myrial (1999)Description / Buy at
Spirit of the Stone (2002)Description / Buy at
The Eye Of Eternity / Echo of Eternity (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Web - 2027 Books

Gulliverzone (By: Stephen Baxter) (1997)Description / Buy at
Dreamcastle (By: Stephen Bowkett) (1997)Description / Buy at
Untouchable (By: Eric Brown) (1997)Description / Buy at
Spiderbite (By: Graham Joyce) (1997)Description / Buy at
Lightstorm (By: Peter F. Hamilton) (1997)Description / Buy at
Sorceress (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Web - 2028 Books

Webcrash (By: Stephen Baxter) (1998)Description / Buy at
Cydonia (By: Ken MacLeod) (1998)Description / Buy at
Spindrift (1998)Description / Buy at
Computopia (By: James Lovegrove) (1998)Description / Buy at
Avatar (By: Pat Cadigan) (1998)Description / Buy at
Walkabout (By: Eric Brown) (1998)Description / Buy at
The Web: 2028 (With: Pat Cadigan,Stephen Baxter,Ken MacLeod,James Lovegrove,Eric Brown,Simon Spanton) (1999)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maggie Furey Books, You’ll Love…

Maggie Furey Synopses: Sorceress by Maggie Furey is book 6 in The Web multi-author series. Two Greek girls come across an aging woman who, via the Web, is attempting to steal experiences and consciousness to form a virtual conscisouness which will live on after her death. Can they stop her and save the young English boy who is unwittingly helping her?

Aurian by Maggie Furey is the first book in the Artefacts of Power series. In ages past, there had been four magical weapons, fashioned to be used only by the Magefolk. But their history had been lost, together with the Artefacts themselves, in the Cataclysm which had wrought changes on land and water alike. Lost also had been the history of the Magefolk, and the Winged Ones, the Leviathans and Phaerie. Aurian, the child of renegade Mages, finds herself sent to the city of Nexis to join the Academy and then train as a full Mage. Little does she suspect that she will quickly become entwined with a power struggle between Miathan, the Archmage, and the human inhabitants of Nexis. The only person to whom she can turn in Forral, Commander of the city’s military garrison and friend of her dead father. But this friendship infuriates Miathan, and leads to a deadly conflagration, in which the first Artefact is revealed. Aurian’s flight, with her servant Anvar, turns into both odyssey and rite-of-passage as she travels to the little-known Southern Kingdoms and begins to rediscover the history of the weapons which are the only hope against Miathan and Armageddon – The Artefacts of Power!

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Maggie Furey Books

Leave a Reply