Mark Hodder
Mark Hodder is a British author of science fiction, fantasy and horror novels. He writes the Burton & Swinburne Adventures series. Mark is a former BBC, journalist and web producer. He has worked in every type of media – both new and old. Mark has a degree in cultural studies and loves British history (particularly 1850 to 1950), good food, cutting-edge gadgets, cult TV, Tom Waits, and other random things. Having based himself in London for most of his working life, Mark now resides in Valencia, Spain, where he can write novels without the big city stress.

Mark Hodder made his debut as a published novelist in 2010 with the novel The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, beginning his Burton & Swinburne series. Below is a list of Mark Hodder’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Mark Hodder releases a new book at

Publication Order of Black Pentagram Books

The Mystery of the Empty Bay (2018)Description / Buy at
The Disaster at Dale Dyke (2018)Description / Buy at
The Great Plague of Paris (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Burton & Swinburne Books

The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack (2010)Description / Buy at
The Curious Case of the Clockwork Man (2011)Description / Buy at
Expedition to the Mountains of the Moon (2012)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Abdu El-Yezdi (2013)Description / Buy at
The Return of the Discontinued Man (2014)Description / Buy at
The Rise of the Automated Aristocrats (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Burton & Swinburne Collections

Strange Affairs and Curious Cases (2016)Description / Buy at
When Red Petals Fall (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Macallister Fogg Books

The Master Mummer's Mummy (2013)Description / Buy at
Great Great Great (And So Forth) Uncle Dragoslav (2013)Description / Buy at
The Hetrodythermaline Highwayman (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Machiavelli The Immortal Books

A Dark and Subtle Light (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sexton Blake Library Books

The Silent Thunder Caper (2014)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake and the Great War (2020)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake and the Master Crooks (2020)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake's Allies (2020)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake on the Home Front (2021)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake's New Order (2021)Description / Buy at
Sexton Blake: Caribbean Crisis & Voodoo Island (With: Michael Moorcock) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Red Sun Also Rises (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Zenith the Albino (2017)Description / Buy at
My Hat! My Wonderful Hat! (2017)Description / Buy at
The Abattoir (2017)Description / Buy at
Dust and Six Fragments of Bone (2017)Description / Buy at
The Beetle (2017)Description / Buy at
Sherlock Holmes: Sir Richard Burton's Final Chapter (2017)Description / Buy at
The Sigils of Hufferton Hall (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Mark Hodder Books, You’ll Love…

Mark Hodder Synopsis: A Red Sun Also Rises is a standalone novel by Mark Hodder. Priest Aiden Fleischer is transported to an alien world. With him is Miss Clarissa Stark, a crippled hunchback of exceptional ability, who has been wronged by an aristocrat and cast out from society. On the planet Ptallaya, under two bright yellow suns, they encounter the Yatsill, a race of enthusiastic mimics who shape their society after impressions picked up from Clarissa’s mind. Creating a faux London, the alien creatures enroll Clarissa in their Council of Magicians and Aiden in the City Guard. But why does the peaceful city require guards? After a day that seemingly has lasted for months, the answer comes, for on this planet without night, a red sun also rises, and brings with it a destructive evil – The Blood Gods! Hideous creatures, they cause Aiden to confront his own internal darkness while trying to protect his friend and his new home.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mark Hodder Books

Leave a Reply