M.J. McGrath is an author out of Essex who also writes under the name of Melanie McGrath. Under the Melanie name she has written bestselling non-fiction and also won the John Llewelyn-Rhys/Mail on Sunday award for Best New British and Commonwealth Writer under 35 for her book, Motel Nirvana. Under the name of Melanie, her first novel was White Heat. That book is the first in the Edie Kiglatuk Mystery series of books.

Melanie continues to write non-fiction books and also works as a journalist. She is currently located in London where she lives and writes.

Get notified when M.J. McGrath releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Edie Kiglatuk Books

White Heat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Boy in the Snow (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Edie Kiglatuk's Christmas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bone Seeker (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Motel Nirvana (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hard, Soft and Wet (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Silvertown (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Long Exile (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hopping (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pie and Mash Down the Roman Road (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Melanie McGrath/M.J. McGrath Books, You’ll Love…

White Heat is the First Edie Kiglatuk Mystery that was longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger Award. The book introduces us to Edie, a half Inuit and half outsider Arctic guide. Despite that, she doesn’t get a ton of respect from the Council of Elders in her community. Edie’s latest job has her leading two tourists out hunting when disaster strikes and one of them is show and killed. The Council is quick to call it an accident, but Edie along with police sergeant Derek Palliser think there is more at play. When the other tourist disappears, Edie sets off into the tundra to try and find some answers and solve this case.

McGrath’s follow-up to that book is called The Boy in the Snow. Edie is helping out her ex-husband as he hopes to win Alaska’s world-famous Iditarod race. Things take a turn and Edie finds herself with another case when the body of an infant boy is found in the snow. The boy is covered in mysterious ceremonial markings—on land belonging to the Old Believers, an exiled Russian Orthodox sect. The Anchorage mayor is running for governor and is trying to keep Edie’s case out of the press, but she is determined and finds herself drawk in a world of corruption and greed

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Melanie McGrath/M.J. McGrath Books

Leave a Reply