Nicholas Blake
Nicholas Blake is the pseudonym of British Poet Laureate C. Day Lewis (1904-1972), who wrote mystery novels under this pen name. He writes the Nigel Strangeways series. As C. Day Lewis, he had an illustrious career both as an academic and as a literary figure, producing many collections of poetry, critical works, translations and novels. He married his second wife, actress Jill Balcon, in 1951. He had four children, including actor Daniel Day Lewis.

Nicholas Blake debuted his pen name in 1935 with the novel A Question of Proof, introducing readers to Nigel Strangeways. His final novel was The Private Wound, published in 1968. Below is a list of Nicholas Blake’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Nigel Strangeways Books

A Question of Proof (1935)Description / Buy at
Thou Shell of Death / Shell of Death (1936)Description / Buy at
There's Trouble Brewing (1937)Description / Buy at
The Beast Must Die (1938)Description / Buy at
The Smiler with the Knife (1939)Description / Buy at
Murder with Malice / Malice in Wonderland / The Summer Camp Mystery (1940)Description / Buy at
The Corpse in the Snowman / The Case of the Abominable Snowman (1941)Description / Buy at
Minute for Murder (1947)Description / Buy at
Head of a Traveler (1949)Description / Buy at
The Dreadful Hollow (1953)Description / Buy at
The Whisper in the Gloom / Catch and Kill (1954)Description / Buy at
End of Chapter (1957)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Cruise (1959)Description / Buy at
The Worm of Death (1961)Description / Buy at
The Sad Variety (1964)Description / Buy at
Thou Shell of Death (1964)Description / Buy at
The Morning After Death (1966)Description / Buy at
Whisper in the Gloom (1977)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Tangled Web / Death and Daisy Bland (1956)Description / Buy at
A Penknife in My Heart (1958)Description / Buy at
The Deadly Joker (1963)Description / Buy at
The Private Wound (1968)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Stories of Mystery and Suspense(1981)Description / Buy at
English Country House Murders(1988)Description / Buy at
Great Irish Detective Stories(1993)Description / Buy at
Fifty Best Mysteries(1993)Description / Buy at
A Century of British Mystery and Suspense(2000)Description / Buy at
You and Who(2012)Description / Buy at
Bodies from the Library(2019)Description / Buy at
Unholy Night(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Thou Shell of Death was also published as Shell of Death. Malice in Wonderland was also titled The Summer Camp Mystery and as The Malice with Murder. The Case of the Abominable Snowman is also known as The Corpse in the Snowman. The Whisper in the Gloom was also published as Catch and Kill. A Tangled Web was also titled Death and Daisy Bland.

If You Like Nicholas Blake Books, You’ll Love…

Nicholas Blake Synopses: A Tangled Web is a standalone title by Nicholas Blake. A chance meeting in a London street in the 1950s… and fate is sealed for carefree cat burglar Hugo Chesterman and Daisy Bland, the girl eager to become his mistress. When a police offer is murdered in Brighton, though, neither is prepared for the suspicion that falls upon them.

The Private Wound is the final standalone novel by Nicholas Blake. It is Ireland in 1939, and a young novelist rents a lonely cottage to write his new book in peace. Almost at once, and without great resistance, he is seduced by the wife of the local squire. Harriet’s husband is an older man – hot-tempered, impoverished, gone to seed – who once fought famously against the Black and Tans. Soon this eternal triangle becomes a local scandal, and the atmosphere of threat and violence, intensified by the approaching war in Europe, leads to a horrific murder.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nicholas Blake Books

Leave a Reply