Nicholson Baker is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. His novels focus on description and characterization, rather than narrative. Subjects in his work include poetry, literature, library systems, history, politics, time manipulation, youth, and sex. Nicholson grew up in Rochester, New York. He earned his B.A. in English from Haverford College. He lives with his wife in South Berwick, Maine, and has two children.

Nicholson Baker made his debut as a published author in 1988 with the novel The Mezzanine. Below is a list of Nicholson Baker’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Nicholson Baker releases a new book at

Publication Order of Paul Chowder Chronicles Books

The Anthologist (2009)Description / Buy at
Travelling Sprinkler (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Mezzanine (1988)Description / Buy at
Room Temperature (1990)Description / Buy at
Vox (1992)Description / Buy at
The Fermata (1994)Description / Buy at
The Everlasting Story of Nory (1998)Description / Buy at
A Box of Matches (2003)Description / Buy at
Checkpoint (2004)Description / Buy at
House of Holes (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

If You Like Nicholson Baker Books, You’ll Love…

  • Geoff Dyer
  • Steve Erickson
  • Donald Antrim

Nicholson Baker Synopses: The Anthologist is the first book in the Paul Chowder Chronicles series by Nicholson Baker. Paul Chowder is attempting to write the introduction to a new anthology of rhyming verse, but he’s having a hard time getting started. The result of these struggles makes up this brilliantly funny and exquisite love story about poetry.

The Everlasting Story of Nory is a standalone title by Nicholson Baker. Nory Winslow wants to be a dentist or to design pop-up books. She likes telling stories and creating dolls. She has nightmares involving teeth, which may explain her career choice. She is going to school in England, where she is mocked for her accent and her friendship with an unpopular girl, and she has made it through the year without crying. We follow Nory as she interacts with her parents and classmates, thinks about God and death-watch beetles, and dreams of cows with pointed teeth. In this precocious child he gives us a heroine as canny and as whimsical as Lewis Carroll‘s Alice and evokes childhood in all its quirkiness.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nicholson Baker Books

Leave a Reply