Paula Fox (1923-2017) was an American author of YA, children’s, and literary fiction novels, and non-fiction books. She attended Columbia University. Paula received the Newbery Medal twice, as well as the Hans Christian Medal and the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis. She was the wife of literary critic/translator Martin Greenberg, mother of two (plus a daughter she gave up for adoption), and the biological grandmother of musician Courtney Love.

Paula Fox made her debut as a published author in 1966 with the novel Maurice’s Room. Below is a list of Paula Fox’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Maurice's Room (1966)Description / Buy at
Poor George (1967)Description / Buy at
Portrait of Ivan (1969)Description / Buy at
Blowfish Live in the Sea (1970)Description / Buy at
Desperate Characters (1970)Description / Buy at
The Western Coast (1972)Description / Buy at
The Slave Dancer (1974)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Children (1976)Description / Buy at
One-Eyed Cat (1980)Description / Buy at
A Place Apart (1980)Description / Buy at
A Servant's Tale (1984)Description / Buy at
The Moonlight Man (1986)Description / Buy at
Lily and the Lost Boy / The Lost Boy (1987)Description / Buy at
The Village by the Sea / In a Place of Darkness (1988)Description / Buy at
In a Place of Danger (1989)Description / Buy at
The God of Nightmares (1990)Description / Buy at
Monkey Island (1991)Description / Buy at
Western Wind (1993)Description / Buy at
The Rider From Yonder (1994)Description / Buy at
The Eagle Kite (1995)Description / Buy at
The Gathering Darkness (1995)Description / Buy at
Radiance Descending (1997)Description / Buy at
The Village by the Sea (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Chapter Books

How Many Miles to Babylon? (1967)Description / Buy at
A Likely Place (1967)Description / Buy at
Dear Prosper (1968)Description / Buy at
The Stone-Faced Boy (1968)Description / Buy at
The King's Falcon (1969)Description / Buy at
Amzat and His Brothers (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Borrowed Finery (2001)Description / Buy at
The Coldest Winter (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Little Swineherd and Other Tales (1978)Description / Buy at
News from the World (2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Paula Fox Books, You’ll Love…

  • Cynthia Voigt
  • Irene Hunt
  • Linda Sue Park

Paula Fox Synopses: Blowfish Live in the Sea is a standalone children’s novel by Paula Fox. Thirteen-year-old Carrie is totally absorbed with and concerned about her nineteen-year-old half brother, Ben. She can’t understand his change from the loving, funny brother she’s always known to the sullen, shut-off young man he’s become. When he asks her to come with him to Boston to meet his real dad, she’s hopeful – maybe the old Ben isn’t gone after all. But the truth Carrie uncovers in Boston isn’t quite so simple. The old Ben is gone. And somehow, she’s going to have to learn to accept the way things are now.

The Slave Dancer is a Newbery Medal winning standalone novel by Paula Fox. This novel follows Jessie, a young boy snatched off the docks in New Orleans and thrown aboard a slave ship in a suspenseful and horrifying depiction of survival.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paula Fox Books

Leave a Reply