P.C. Hodgell is an American author of science fiction and fantasy novels. She writes the Kencyrath series. She has her Master’s in English Literature and her doctorate from the University of Minnesota. P.C., or Pat, has always had a passion for science fiction and fantasy. She ended up collecting piles of paperbacks and comics. After a while, simply reading didn’t scratch enough of her itch, and she ended up starting to write after college. It took her a while to figure out her craft, but she received an invitation to the Clarion Writer’s Workshop, where she received encouragement from authors like Harlan Ellison and Kate Wilhelm. Pat lives in Wisconsin in a 19th century wood-framed house, which has remained in her family for multiple generations.

P.C. Hodgell made her debut as a published author in 1982 with the novel God Stalk. Below is a list of P.C. Hodgell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when P.C. Hodgell releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Kencyrath Books

God Stalk (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark of the Moon (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Seeker's Mask (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood and Ivory (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
To Ride a Rathorn (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bound in Blood (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Honor's Paradox (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sea of Time (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Gates of Tagmeth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
By Demons Possessed (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deathless Gods (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Berkley Showcase: Vol. 2(1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like P.C. Hodgell Books, You’ll Love…

P.C. Hodgell Synopsis: God Stalk is the first Kencyrath novel by P.C. Hodgell. Jame is a Kencyr. Kencyrs are not native to the planet where they call home. For centuries upon centuries, they have been the weapon that their Three-Faced God has used against the power of the Perimal Darkling. And though they have fought well, the Darkling has come to planet after planet, and the Kencyrs have moved on. Jame knows this as she stumbles out of the hilly, barren Haunted Lands into the city of Tai-tastigon. But she knows little else. She does not remember where she has been or what she has done for the last ten years of her life. Her memory goes back only a week or two—to finding her home destroyed and all her family dead. In Tai-tastigon Jame begins a new life that seems to be at odds with all that the Kencyrs stand for. Kencyrs are honest and just, but Jame becomes an apprentice to the most renowned thief in the powerful Thieves’ Guild. Kencyrs are confirmed monotheists, yet Jame explores the rituals and activities of the thousands of gods, templed and untempled, in this religious center; she even kills a god and then resurrects him. And at the inn, the Res aB’tyrr, where she lives, she finds herself using the most sacred dances of her people, dances she does not even remember learning, for the entertainment and sometimes the destruction of the inn’s patrons. Within herself Jame finds power she does not want and doubts she defies her heredity to harbor. She moves through the rich and bloody stew of Tai-tastigon like a hot spice. Her probings, to find herself and to discover what her powers mean to her and her people, combined with influences already at work, very nearly destroy the city. And yet, they bring her face to face with a destiny she must accept.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of P.C. Hodgell Books

Leave a Reply