Percival Everett is an American author of literary fiction novels and poetry. He wrote his first novel when was working on his AM degree at Brown University. He has been called “one of the most adventurously experimental of modern American novelists” by The Washington Post. Percival is also a Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Southern California. He describes himself as a demanding teacher, but also says the learning between student and teacher goes both ways.

Percival Everett made his debut as a published novelist in 1983 with the novel Suder. Below is a list of Percival Everett’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Percival Everett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Suder (1983)Description / Buy at
Walk Me to the Distance (1985)Description / Buy at
Cutting Lisa (1986)Description / Buy at
Zulus (1990)Description / Buy at
For Her Dark Skin (1990)Description / Buy at
God's Country (1994)Description / Buy at
Watershed (1996)Description / Buy at
Frenzy (1996)Description / Buy at
Glyph (1999)Description / Buy at
Erasure (2001)Description / Buy at
Grand Canyon, Inc. (2001)Description / Buy at
American Desert (2004)Description / Buy at
A History of the African-American People (2004)Description / Buy at
Wounded (2005)Description / Buy at
The Water Cure (2007)Description / Buy at
I Am Not Sidney Poitier (2009)Description / Buy at
Assumption (2011)Description / Buy at
The Body of Martin Aguilera (2013)Description / Buy at
Percival Everett by Virgil Russell (2013)Description / Buy at
So Much Blue (2017)Description / Buy at
Telephone (2020)Description / Buy at
The Trees (2021)Description / Buy at
Dr. No (2022)Description / Buy at
James (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Weather and Women Treat Me Fair (1987)Description / Buy at
Big Picture (1996)Description / Buy at
Damned if I Do (2004)Description / Buy at
re: f -gesture- (2005)Description / Buy at
Swimming Swimmers Swimming (2011)Description / Buy at
Half an Inch of Water (2015)Description / Buy at
Trout's Lie (2015)Description / Buy at
Two Stories (2018)Description / Buy at
The Book of Training by Colonel Hap Thompson of Roanoke, Va, 1843 (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The One that Got Away (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Parts of Brain (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fiction International 34: Madness II(2001)Description / Buy at
Fiction's Present(2007)Description / Buy at

Note: A History of the African-American People was co-authored by James Kincaid.

If You Like Percival Everett Books, You’ll Love…

  • Teju Cole
  • Chris Abani
  • George Mackay Brown

Percival Everett Synopses: God’s Country is a standalone novel by Percival Everett. Curt Marder is a gambler, drinker, cheat, and would-be womanizer. It’s 1871, and he’s lost his farm, his wife, and his dog to a band of marauding hooligans. With nothing to live on but a desire to recover what is rightfully his, Marder is forced to enlist the help of the best tracker in the West: a black man named Bubba.

Watershed by Percival Everett is a standalone title. Somewhere north of Denver, Robert Hawks, a feisty and dangerously curious hydrologist, finds himself enmeshed in a fight over Native American treaty rights. What begins for Robert as a peaceful fishing interlude ends in murder and the disclosure of government secrets.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Percival Everett Books

Leave a Reply