Reginald Hill (1936-2012) was an English novelist of crime fiction. He is best known for his Dalziel and Pascoe series, set in Yorkshire. His novels used interesting structures, such as telling the story out of chronological order. In 1995, Reginald received the CWA Cartier Diamond Dagger for Lifetime Achievement. Hill passed away in January 2012 from a brain tumour.

Reginald Hill made his fiction debut in 1970 with A Clubbable Woman, the beginning of his Dalziel and Pascoe series. Below is a list of Reginald Hill’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Books

A Clubbable Woman (1970)Description / Buy at
An Advancement of Learning (1971)Description / Buy at
Ruling Passion (1973)Description / Buy at
An April Shroud (1975)Description / Buy at
A Pinch of Snuff (1978)Description / Buy at
A Killing Kindness (1980)Description / Buy at
Deadheads (1983)Description / Buy at
Exit Lines (1984)Description / Buy at
Child's Play (1986)Description / Buy at
Under World (1988)Description / Buy at
Bones and Silence (1990)Description / Buy at
One Small Step (1990)Description / Buy at
Recalled to Life (1992)Description / Buy at
Pictures of Perfection (1994)Description / Buy at
The Wood Beyond (1995)Description / Buy at
On Beulah Height (1998)Description / Buy at
Arms and the Women (1999)Description / Buy at
Dialogues of the Dead (2001)Description / Buy at
Death's Jest-Book (2002)Description / Buy at
Good Morning, Midnight (2004)Description / Buy at
Death Comes for the Fat Man / The Death of Dalziel (2007)Description / Buy at
The Last National Service Man (2007)Description / Buy at
A Cure for All Diseases / The Price of Butcher's Meat (2008)Description / Buy at
Midnight Fugue (2009)Description / Buy at
The Last National Service Man is a prequel novella.

Publication Order of Dalziel & Pascoe Collections

Pascoe's Ghost (1979)Description / Buy at
Asking for the Moon (1996)Description / Buy at
Dalziel and Pascoe Hunt the Christmas Killer (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Joe Sixsmith Books

Blood Sympathy (1993)Description / Buy at
Born Guilty (1995)Description / Buy at
Killing the Lawyers (1997)Description / Buy at
Singing the Sadness (1999)Description / Buy at
The Roar of the Butterflies (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Captain Fantom Books

(as Charles Underhill)

Captain Fantom (1978)Description / Buy at
The Forging of Fantom (1979)Description / Buy at
The Forging of Fantom is a prequel.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Castle of the Demon / The Turning of the Tide (As: Patrick Ruell) (1971)Description / Buy at
A Fairly Dangerous Thing (1972)Description / Buy at
Red Christmas (As: Patrick Ruell) (1972)Description / Buy at
Matlock's System / Heart Clock (As: Dick Morland) (1973)Description / Buy at
A Very Good Hater (1974)Description / Buy at
Albion! Albion! / Singleton's Law (As: Dick Morland) (1974)Description / Buy at
The Low Road / Death Takes the Low Road (As: Patrick Ruell) (1974)Description / Buy at
Urn Burial / Beyond the Bone (As: Patrick Ruell) (1975)Description / Buy at
Another Death in Venice (1976)Description / Buy at
The Spy's Wife (1980)Description / Buy at
Who Guards a Prince? / Guardians of the Prince (1982)Description / Buy at
Traitor's Blood (1983)Description / Buy at
No Man's Land (1985)Description / Buy at
Fell of Dark (1986)Description / Buy at
Death of a Dormouse (As: Patrick Ruell) (1987)Description / Buy at
The Collaborators (1987)Description / Buy at
The Long Kill (As: Patrick Ruell) (1988)Description / Buy at
Dream of Darkness (As: Patrick Ruell) (1989)Description / Buy at
The Only Game (As: Patrick Ruell) (1993)Description / Buy at
The Stranger House (2005)Description / Buy at
The Woodcutter (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Proxime Accessit (1990)Description / Buy at
A Candle for Christmas (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

There Are No Ghosts in the Soviet Union (1987)Description / Buy at
Brother's Keeper (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Crime Writers(1978)Description / Buy at
The Man Who...(1992)Description / Buy at
2nd Culprit(1993)Description / Buy at
Thou Shalt Not Kill(2005)Description / Buy at
The Detection Collection(2005)Description / Buy at

Notes: Death Comes for the Fat Man is also known as The Death of Dalziel. A Cure For All Diseases is alternatively titled The Price of Butcher’s Meat. Heart Clock was also published as Matlock’s System. Albion! Albion! is also titled Singleton’s Law. The Castle of the Demon was also published as The Turning of the Tide. Urn Burial was also published as Beyond the Bone.

Heart Clock and Albion! Albion! were written under the pen name of Dick Morland. Captain Fantom was written under the pen name of Charles Underhill. The Castle of the Demon, Red Christmas, Death Takes the Low Road, Urn Burial, The Long Kill, Death of a Dormouse, Dream of Darkness and The Only Game were originally published under the pseudonym of Patrick Ruell.

If You Like Reginald Hill Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Reginald Hill Books

One Response to “Order of Reginald Hill Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 8 years ago

    REALLY a good writer….his Dalziel / Pascoe series is a police procedural series set in England….it ties in friends and family, and other events besides “just” murders……the series grows and develops as time passes.

    Can’t recommend it highly enough! Very funny at points, heartbreaking at others! Unfortunately Kindle has ONLY three of the Dalziel/ Pascoe series on Kindle (the books are all available on Amazon) which is just criminal considering some of the trash that IS on Kindle!


Leave a Reply