Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894) was a Scottish author who was best known for his works Treasure Island and Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Although during his lifetime, he was praised and made a celebrity, he was relegated to a “second class writer” by authors such as Virginia Woolf following World War I. Later, praise for the Scottish novelist would return when Oxford Inkling Roger Lancelyn Green referred to Stevenson as “a writer of a consistently high level of literary skill or sheer imaginative power.”

Robert Louis Stevenson’s first novel was titled The Hair Trunk or The Ideal Commonwealth, which went unfinished unpublished. His next novel would be one of his most famous, Treasure Island in 1883. Below is a list of Robert Louis Stevenson’s published works in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of David Balfour Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Treasure Island (1882)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Box (1889)Description / Buy at
The Master of Ballantrae (1889)Description / Buy at
The Wrecker (1892)Description / Buy at
The Ebb-Tide (1894)Description / Buy at
Weir of Hermiston (1896)Description / Buy at
St. Ives (1897)Description / Buy at
A Lowden Sabbath Morn (1898)Description / Buy at
The Sea Fogs (1907)Description / Buy at
Will O' the Mill (1915)Description / Buy at
The Black Arrow (1926)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Thrawn Janet (1881)Description / Buy at
Olalla (1885)Description / Buy at
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886)Description / Buy at
Markheim (1886)Description / Buy at
The Misadventures of John Nicholson (1887)Description / Buy at
The Beach of Falesa (1963)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

New Arabian Nights (1882)Description / Buy at
The Merry Men and Other Tales and Fables (1887)Description / Buy at
Underwoods (1887)Description / Buy at
Ballads (1890)Description / Buy at
Island Nights' Entertainments (1893)Description / Buy at
The Body Snatcher (1895)Description / Buy at
The Suicide Club (1895)Description / Buy at
Songs of Travel (1896)Description / Buy at
The Story of a Lie, and Other Tales (1904)Description / Buy at
Tales and Fantasies (1905)Description / Buy at
New Poems and Variant Readings (1918)Description / Buy at
A Child's Garden of Verses (1921)Description / Buy at
Moral Emblems (1921)Description / Buy at
Weir of Hermiston and Other Stories (1979)Description / Buy at
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Selected Short Fiction (2005)Description / Buy at
The Collected Supernatural and Weird Fiction of Robert Louis Stevenson (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Wakey Wakey Machine (With: Alan MacDonald) (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes (1879)Description / Buy at
The Old & New Pacific Capitals (1880)Description / Buy at
The Silverado Squatters (1884)Description / Buy at
Memories and Portraits (1887)Description / Buy at
Memoir of Fleeming Jenkin (1887)Description / Buy at
The Lantern-Bearers and Other Essays (1888)Description / Buy at
A Footnote to History (1892)Description / Buy at
Across the Plains (1892)Description / Buy at
Vailima Letters (1895)Description / Buy at
The Amateur Emigrant (1895)Description / Buy at
In the South Seas (1900)Description / Buy at
Virginibus Puerique and Other Papers (1901)Description / Buy at
The Meaning of Friendship (1909)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson Books

The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson: Volume 1 (2021)Description / Buy at
The Letters of Robert Louis Stevenson: Volume 2 (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

50 Great Short Stories(1952)Description / Buy at
The Children's Hour: Leaders and Heroes(1954)Description / Buy at
A St. Nicholas Anthology(1969)Description / Buy at
Scottish Tales of Terror(1972)Description / Buy at
Adventure Stories for Boys and Girls(1985)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Gothic Tales(1992)Description / Buy at
H.P. Lovecraft's Book of Horror(1993)Description / Buy at
The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales(1993)Description / Buy at
Classic Sea Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
Master's Choice: Mystery Stories by Today's Top Writers and the Masters Who Inspired Them(2000)Description / Buy at
The Little Big Book of California(2005)Description / Buy at
H. P. Lovecraft's Book of the Supernatural(2006)Description / Buy at
Tales Before Narnia: The Roots of Modern Fantasy and Science Fiction(2008)Description / Buy at
The Ultimate Horror Collection, Volume 3(2009)Description / Buy at
50 Classic Novellas(2011)Description / Buy at
Robert Louis Stevenson: An Anthology(2017)Description / Buy at
The Greatest Books of All Time #4(2017)Description / Buy at
Scottish Stories(2023)Description / Buy at
The Edinburgh Mystery: And Other Tales of Scottish Crime(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Wrong Box, The Wrecker and The Ebb Tide were co-authored by Lloyd Osbourne. St. Ives was co-authored by Sir Arthur Quiller-Couch. The Wakey Wakey Machine was written by Alan MacDonald, with credit given to Robert Louis Stevenson.

If You Like Robert Louis Stevenson Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Louis Stevenson Books

Leave a Reply