Ronald H. Balson is an American author of historical fiction novels. He writes the Liam Taggart and Catherine Lockhart series. Aside from being a novelist, Ron is a practicing attorney with the firm of Stone, Pogrund & Korey in Chicago. He has been practicing for over 40 years. His legal practice has taken him to courts all across the U.S. and Canada, as well as deposition testimony in various European and Asian countries. Being involved in a commercial dispute involving a telephone service in Poland, he ended up making numerous trips to Warsaw. These trips are what inspired his first novel, Once We Were Brothers. His love for history and trips to the Middle East motivated him to write his second novel, Saving Sophie.

Ronald H. Balson made his debut as a novelist in 2009 with the novel Once We Were Brothers. Below is a list of Ronald H. Balson’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Ronald H. Balson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liam Taggart & Catherine Lockhart Books

Once We Were Brothers (2010)Description / Buy at
Saving Sophie (2015)Description / Buy at
Karolina's Twins (2016)Description / Buy at
The Trust (2017)Description / Buy at
The Girl from Berlin (2018)Description / Buy at
Defending Britta Stein (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eli's Promise (2020)Description / Buy at
An Affair of Spies (2022)Description / Buy at
A Place to Hide (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ronald H. Balson Books, You’ll Love…

  • Pam Jenoff
  • Alyson Richman
  • Martin Fletcher

Ronald H. Balson Synopsis: Once We Were Brothers is the first novel in the Liam Taggart & Catherine Lockhart series by Ronald H. Balson. Elliot Rosenzweig, a respected civic leader and wealthy philanthropist, is attending a fundraiser when he is suddenly accosted and accused of being a former Nazi SS officer named Otto Piatek, the Butcher of Zamosc. Although the charges are denounced as preposterous, his accuser is convinced he is right and engages attorney Catherine Lockhart to bring Rosenzweig to justice. Solomon persuades attorney Catherine Lockhart to take his case, revealing that the true Piatek was abandoned as a child and raised by Solomon’s own family only to betray them during the Nazi occupation. But has Solomon accused the right man?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ronald H. Balson Books

Leave a Reply