Tom Kratman is an American author of military science fiction novels. He writes the Desert Called Peace series. Prior to becoming an author, Tom was an infantry colonel in the U.S. Army, and later became a lawyer in Virginia. Tom now writes full-time. He lives with his wife, Yolanda, and has adult children and grandchildren.

Tom Kratman made his debut as a published author in 2003 with the novel A State of Disobedience. Below is a list of Tom Kratman’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Tom Kratman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Countdown Books

Publication Order of Desert Called Peace Books

A Desert Called Peace (2007)Description / Buy at
Carnifex (2007)Description / Buy at
The Lotus Eaters (2010)Description / Buy at
The Amazon Legion (2011)Description / Buy at
Come and Take Them (2013)Description / Buy at
The Rods and the Axe (2014)Description / Buy at
A Pillar of Fire by Night (2018)Description / Buy at
Days of Burning, Days of Wrath (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Posleen War Books

A Hymn Before Battle (By: John Ringo) (2000)Description / Buy at
Gust Front (By: John Ringo) (2001)Description / Buy at
When the Devil Dances (By: John Ringo) (2002)Description / Buy at
Hell's Faire (By: John Ringo) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Hero (By: John Ringo,Michael Z. Williamson) (2004)Description / Buy at
Cally's War (By: John Ringo,Julie Cochrane) (2004)Description / Buy at
Watch on the Rhine (With: John Ringo) (2005)Description / Buy at
Sister Time (By: John Ringo,Julie Cochrane) (2007)Description / Buy at
Yellow Eyes (With: John Ringo) (2007)Description / Buy at
Honor of the Clan (By: John Ringo,Julie Cochrane) (2009)Description / Buy at
Eye of the Storm (By: John Ringo) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Tuloriad (With: John Ringo) (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A State of Disobedience (2003)Description / Buy at
Caliphate (2008)Description / Buy at
The Romanov Rescue (With: Kacey Ezell,Justin Watson) (2021)Description / Buy at
Dirty Water (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Big Boys Don't Cry (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Training for War: An Essay (2014)Description / Buy at
Principles of Organization for War and Organizing for War in the Carreraverse (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Riding the Red Horse(2014)Description / Buy at
Forbidden Thoughts(2017)Description / Buy at
Terra Nova: The Wars of Liberation(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Tom Kratman Books, You’ll Love…

Tom Kratman Synopsis: A State of Disobedience is a standalone title by Tom Kratman. In the long war against terrorism, the US Government had taken on additional power. And now that the war has been won, powerful forces in the government have no intention of relinquishing those powers. As in 1860, the country was on the verge of civil war. And as in 1860, a leader arose to save the country – but it’s not the President this time. Instead, the Governor of Texas was the woman of destiny…

Countdown by Tom Kratman is the first book in the Liberators series. Old soldier Wes Stauer is dying inside, from sheer lack of purpose. And a knock is heard at the door: “Our leader’s son and heir has been kidnapped. We don’t know where he is. We need you to get him back for us. The people who have him are numerous, warlike, and well armed. But money is no object.” And then old soldiers – sailors and airmen, too – stop fading away and come back into sharp focus.

Tom Kratman is a former United States Army officer and science fiction writer. He is the author of the popular Carrera, also known as A Desert Called Peace, series of books. He has also collaborated with author John Ringo on a number of projects.

Kratman spent many years in the Army, serving with the 101st Airborne Division and in Panama with the 193rd Infantry Brigade. He’d spend over a decade in the Army before leaving to attend law school. While studying, he remained in the U.S. Army Reserves. He was actually recalled to serve in the 2003 Iraq War, but was unable to serve due to health problems. He would then go to work at the United States Army War College before retiring in 2006 to write full-time.

A Desert Called Peace is the first book in the Carrera series. This book takes place five centuries in the future on an Earth like planet. A religious group has murdered the uncle of a former colonel and also taken down his wife and their children. The former colonel Patrick Hennessey is not happy with this and will form an army to destroy those who have harmed his family.

Kratman is also the author of Countdown: The Liberators and is another realistic military book by him. The book follows an old soldier named Wes Stauer who is dying on the inside with no battle to fight, an old soldier who has lost his purpose. Just as he’s wearing down, purpose comes knocking on his door. A man’s son has been kidnapped by a military type group and they need Wes’s help to get them back. Money is no object and soon the fading Stauer sees his military mind come back into focus.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tom Kratman Books

Leave a Reply