Tom Wolfe (1931-2018) was an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. He was one of the founders of the New Journalism movement, and was famous for coining the term “fiction-absolute.” Wolfe was educated at Washington and Lee Universities, as well as Yale, where he earned his PhD in American studies. He spent the early part of his career as a beat reporter for the Washington Post. In some of his books, he explores the inner workings of the mind. The attention he paid the eccentricities of behaviour and language, as well as questioning social status, are considered to be unmatched in American writing.

Tom Wolfe debuted as an author in 1965 with the non-fiction book The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby. His first novel was The Bonfire of the Vanities, published in 1987. Below is a list of Tom Wolfe’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Bonfire of the Vanities (1987)Description / Buy at
A Man in Full (1998)Description / Buy at
I Am Charlotte Simmons (2004)Description / Buy at
Back to Blood (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Ambush at Fort Bragg (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

In Our Time (1961)Description / Buy at
The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby (1965)Description / Buy at
The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test (1968)Description / Buy at
The Pump House Gang (1968)Description / Buy at
Radical Chic: And, Mau Mauing The Flak Catchers (1970)Description / Buy at
The New Journalism (1973)Description / Buy at
The Painted Word (1975)Description / Buy at
Mauve Gloves and Madman, Clutter and Vine (1977)Description / Buy at
The Right Stuff (1979)Description / Buy at
From Bauhaus to Our House (1981)Description / Buy at
The Purple Decades (1982)Description / Buy at
The Kingdom of Speech (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Art Spiegelman Graphic Novels

(with Jack Kirby, Mœbius, Art Spiegelman, Harvey Kurtzman, Federico Fellini, Jeet Heer, Frank Zappa, C.C. Beck, Michel Choquette, Red Grooms, Bob Levin)

The Wild Party (By: Art Spiegelman) (1928)Description / Buy at
Jack Cole and Plastic Man (By: Art Spiegelman) (2001)Description / Buy at
In the Shadow of No Towers (By: Art Spiegelman) (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writing New York(1998)Description / Buy at
Writing Los Angeles(2002)Description / Buy at
The Little Big Book of California(2005)Description / Buy at
Way More than Luck(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Tom Wolfe Books, You’ll Love…

Tom Wolfe Synopses: The Bonfire of Vanities is a standalone title by Tom Wolfe. One night, a millionaire named Sherman McCoy and his mistress have an accident in the Bronx. The next day a young black is in hospital in a coma as McCoy heads for disaster. His humiliation is at the centre of a satire on the decaying class, racial and political structure of New York in the 1980s.

In the non-fiction book The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby by Tom Wolfe, he introduces us to the ’60s, to extravagant new styles of life that had nothing to do with the “elite” culture of days past.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tom Wolfe Books

Leave a Reply