Viet Thanh Nguyen is a Vietnamese-American author of literary fiction novels. He is a New York Times bestselling author, and the winner of a Pulitzer Prize for fiction. Nguyen was born to refugees from North Vietnam, who fled south in 1954. Following the Fall of Saigon, his family fled Vietnam for the United States. He is a professor at the University of Southern California.

Viet Thanh Nguyen made his debut as a published novelist in 2015 with the novel The Sympathizer. Below is a list of Viet Thanh Nguyen’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Viet Thanh Nguyen releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Sympathizer Books

The Sympathizer (2015)Description / Buy at
The Committed (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Black-Eyed Women (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Chicken of the Sea (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Race and Resistance (2002)Description / Buy at
Nothing Ever Dies (2016)Description / Buy at
The Displaced (With: Aleksandar Hemon) (2018)Description / Buy at
A Man of Two Faces (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Looking Back on the Vietnam War: Twenty-First-Century Perspectives(2016)Description / Buy at
Ploughshares Summer 2016 Guest-Edited by Claire Messud & James Wood(2016)Description / Buy at
One World Two(2016)Description / Buy at
Fight of the Century(2020)Description / Buy at
The Writer's Library(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Viet Thanh Nguyen Books, You’ll Love…

Viet Thanh Nguyen Synopses: The Sympathizer is a standalone title by Viet Thanh Nguyen. The narrator, a communist double agent, is a “man of two minds,” a half-French, half-Vietnamese army captain who arranges to come to America after the Fall of Saigon, and while building a new life with other Vietnamese refugees in Los Angeles is secretly reporting back to his communist superiors in Vietnam.

Chicken of the Sea is a picture book by Viet Thanh Nguyen and illustrations by Thi Bui. A band of intrepid chickens leave behind the boredom of farm life, joining the crew of the pirate ship Pitiless to seek fortune and glory on the high seas. Led by a grizzled captain into the territory of the Dog Knights, they soon learn what it means to be courageous, merciful, and not seasick quite so much of the time.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Viet Thanh Nguyen Books

Leave a Reply