The Ardneh sequence is comprised of three connected sci-fi/fantasy series by American novelist Fred Saberhagen. The series that make up the Ardneh sequence include Saberhagen’s Empire of the East, Books of Swords and Books of Lost Swords series. Ardneh is an intelligent super-computer that was once a nuclear response system that caused the planet the physically change.

The Empire of the East series began in 1968 with The Broken Lands and ran until Ardneh’s Sword in 2006 (with a 33 year gap between the third and fourth books). The Books of Swords series began with The First Book of Swords in 1983 and concluded with The Third Book of Swords the following year. The Books of Lost Swords series started in ’86 with Woundhealer’s Story and ended in 1994 with Shieldbreaker’s Story. Below is a list of Fred Saberhagen’s Ardneh books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of Empire Of The East Books

The Broken Lands(1968)Description / Buy at
The Black Mountains(1971)Description / Buy at
Ardneh's World / Changeling Earth(1973)Description / Buy at
Ardneh's Sword(2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Books Of Swords Books

The First Book of Swords(1983)Description / Buy at
The Second Book of Swords(1983)Description / Buy at
The Third Book of Swords(1984)Description / Buy at
Blind Man's Blade(2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Books Of Lost Swords Books

Woundhealer's Story(1986)Description / Buy at
Sightblinder's Story(1987)Description / Buy at
Stonecutter's Story(1988)Description / Buy at
Farslayer's Story(1988)Description / Buy at
Coinspinner's Story(1989)Description / Buy at
Mindsword's Story(1990)Description / Buy at
Wayspinner's Story(1992)Description / Buy at
Shieldbreaker's Story(1994)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Ardneh Books

Leave a Reply