Inspector George Gently by Alan Hunter
Inspector George Gently is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction by British novelist Alan Hunter. George Gently starts out as an inspector with the police in East Anglia, UK. The series has been adapted to a BBC TV series starring Martin Shaw, although the character in the books is more calculating and more analytical.

Alan Hunter debuted his Inspector George Gently character in 1955 with his own debut novel, entitled Gently Does It. The series lasted 46 novels with one new novel being published almost every year until Hunter’s retirement in 1999. The final novel of the series is Gently Mistaken. Below is a list of Alan Hunter’s Inspector George Gently books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector George Gently Books

Gently Does It(1955)Description / Buy at
Gently By the Shore(1956)Description / Buy at
Gently Down the Stream(1957)Description / Buy at
Landed Gently(1957)Description / Buy at
Gently Through the Mill(1958)Description / Buy at
Gently in the Sun(1959)Description / Buy at
Gently With The Painters(1960)Description / Buy at
Gently to the Summit(1961)Description / Buy at
Gently Go Man(1961)Description / Buy at
Gently Where The Roads Go(1962)Description / Buy at
Gently Floating(1963)Description / Buy at
Gently Sahib(1964)Description / Buy at
Gently with the Ladies(1965)Description / Buy at
Gently North-West(1967)Description / Buy at
Gently Continental(1967)Description / Buy at
Gently Coloured(1969)Description / Buy at
Gently with the Innocents(1970)Description / Buy at
Gently at a Gallop(1971)Description / Buy at
Gently Where She Lay(1972)Description / Buy at
Gently French(1973)Description / Buy at
Gently in Trees / Gently Through the Woods(1974)Description / Buy at
Gently with Love(1975)Description / Buy at
Gently Where the Birds are(1976)Description / Buy at
Gently Instrumental(1977)Description / Buy at
Gently to a Sleep(1978)Description / Buy at
The Honfleur Decision(1980)Description / Buy at
Gabrielle's Way(1981)Description / Buy at
Fields of Heather / Death on the Heath(1981)Description / Buy at
Gently Heartbroken / The Scottish Decision(1981)Description / Buy at
Gently Between Tides(1982)Description / Buy at
Amorous Leander / Death on the Broadlands(1983)Description / Buy at
Unhung Man(1984)Description / Buy at
Once a prostitute...(1984)Description / Buy at
The Chelsea Ghost(1985)Description / Buy at
Goodnight, Sweet Prince(1986)Description / Buy at
Strangling Man(1987)Description / Buy at
Traitor's End(1988)Description / Buy at
Gently With The Millions(1989)Description / Buy at
Gently Scandalous(1990)Description / Buy at
Gently To A Kill(1991)Description / Buy at
Gently Tragic(1992)Description / Buy at
Gently in the Glens(1993)Description / Buy at
Bomber's Moon(1994)Description / Buy at
Jackpot!(1995)Description / Buy at
The Love of Gods(1997)Description / Buy at
Over Here(1998)Description / Buy at
Gently Mistaken(1999)Description / Buy at
Gently Under Fire(2014)Description / Buy at
Gently Sinking(2014)Description / Buy at
Gently in the Past(2016)Description / Buy at
Gently with Passion(2016)Description / Buy at

Notes: Gently North-West is also known as Gently in the Highlands. Gently in Trees was also published as Gently Through the Woods. Fields of Heather is also known as Death on the Heath. Amorous Leander is alternatively titled Death on the Broadlands. The Unhanged Man was also released as Unhung Man.

If You Like Inspector George Gently Books, You’ll Love…

George Gently Synopsis: In Gently in Trees by Alan Hunter, Adrian Stoll’s death was not a suicide, considering how many people wanted to see him dead. Gently must piece together a puzzle in order to find out what really happened.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector George Gently Books

Leave a Reply