Inspector Shan by Eliot Pattison
Inspector Shan is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Eliot Pattison. Shan Tao Yun is a Chinese detective who got on the bad side of a powerbroker in the Chinese government. As a result, he has lost his job, his family and his freedom and is now imprisoned in a labour camp in the Himalayans.

Eliot Pattison began his Inspector Shan series in 1998 with the novel The Skull Mantra. The novel won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel. The series is currently ongoing, at a rate of approximately one novel every 2-3 years. Below is a list of Eliot Pattison’s Inspector Shan books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronologcial order):

Get notified when Eliot Pattison releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Shan Books

The Skull Mantra(1999)Description / Buy at
Water Touching Stone(2001)Description / Buy at
Bone Mountain(2002)Description / Buy at
Beautiful Ghosts(2004)Description / Buy at
Prayer of the Dragon(2007)Description / Buy at
The Lord of Death(2009)Description / Buy at
Mandarin Gate(2012)Description / Buy at
Soul of the Fire(2014)Description / Buy at
Skeleton God(2017)Description / Buy at
Bones of the Earth(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Shan Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector Shan Synopsis: In The Skull Mantra by Eliot Pattison, a corpse in American-style clothes is found on a windy cliff in Tibet – missing a head. The job is given to Inspector Shan, who has been granted a temporary release, in order to solve the case. When an innocent Buddhist priest is arrest, Shan must find the real murderer before it’s too late.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Shan Books

Leave a Reply