Jane Lawless is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Ellen Hart. Jane Lawless is a lesbian, restaurateur and sleuth based in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Ellen Hart began her Jane Lawless series in 1989 with the novel Hallowed Murder – which was also the author’s debut novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ellen Hart’s Jane Lawless books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Ellen Hart releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jane Lawless Books

Hallowed Murder(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Vital Lies(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stage Fright(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Killing Cure(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Small Sacrifice(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Faint Praise(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Robber's Wine(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wicked Games(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hunting the Witch(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Merchant of Venus(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Immaculate Midnight(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Intimate Ghost(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Iron Girl(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Vision(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mortal Groove(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sweet Poison(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mirror and the Mask(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cruel Ever After(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lost Women of Lost Lake(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rest for the Wicked(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Taken by the Wind(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Old Deep and Dark(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grave Soul(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fever in the Dark(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Whisper of Bones(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twisted at the Root(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In a Midnight Wood(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Ellen Hart Books, You’ll Love…

  • Rainey Bell
  • Kate Ryan
  • Sam Perry

Ellen Hart Synopsis: Hallowed Murder is the first Jane Lawless novel by Ellen Hart. Jane Lawless is a woman at a crossroads – her lover has left, she has finally recovered from a vicious attack sustained last year, and the holidays are closing in. With no one to help her ring in the new year, Jane reluctantly agrees to accompany her good friend Cordelia Thorn on a peculiar holiday trip: Cordelia’s estranged sister, Broadway star Octavia Thorn, has asked them to attend her wedding. Octavia getting married is no surprise – she’s done it three times before – but her candidate for hubby #4 certainly is. Roland Lester is a reclusive eighty-three-year-old retired Hollywood director, a relic from the golden age of Tinseltown with a controversial past. No one can understand how the two met, much less fell in love. When the bodies start to drop, Jane realizes it might not be love at all that brought the young diva and the aged director together, but something much deeper, and perhaps more sinister. Delving deep into film history, Jane finds unsettling connections between Roland and a murder that was never solved. Finding out what happened 40 years ago could be the key to unlock the mystery of Octavia’s curious marriage, but laying bare such long-buried secrets also promises grave consequences for everyone involved.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jane Lawless Books

Leave a Reply