Joe Ryker by Nelson DeMille
Joe Ryker is the protagonist in a series of thriller novels by American author Nelson DeMille. Detective Sgt. Joe Ryker is a regular guy who works for the New York Police Department. Ryker is very much in-tune with his surroundings and this gives him the edge in being able to track down criminals. He works alone, with his only partners being his standard police special .38 on his ankle and a .357 Magnum on his shoulder.

Nelson DeMille began his Joe Ryker series in 1974 with the novel The Sniper. The series lasted six novels, concluding in 1975 with the novel The Night of the Phoenix. Below is a list of Nelson DeMille’s Joe Ryker books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Nelson DeMille releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Ryker Books

The Sniper(1974)Description / Buy at
The Hammer of God(1974)Description / Buy at
The Terrorists(1974)Description / Buy at
The Agent of Death / The Death Squad(1975)Description / Buy at
Child Killer(1975)Description / Buy at
Ryker the Sadist(1975)Description / Buy at
Motive For Murder(1975)Description / Buy at
Cannibal(1975)Description / Buy at
The Smack Man(1975)Description / Buy at
The Night of the Phoenix(1975)Description / Buy at
The Slasher(1976)Description / Buy at

Note: The series has also been re-published using the pen name of Jack Cannon.

If You Like Joe Ryker Books, You’ll Love…

Joe Ryker Synopsis: The Sniper by Nelson DeMille is about Joe Ryker, who works for the NYPD. Ryker is on the hunt for a sniper murderer by the name of Homer Cyrus (later changed to “Henry Cyrus”) – a Vietnam vet.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Joe Ryker Books

Leave a Reply