The Last Picture Show series is a series of contemporary western novels by American author Larry McMurtry. The series is alternatively named after its protagonist, Duane Moore. Both The Last Picture Show and its follow-up Texasville were adapted to film.

The Last Picture Show series began in 1966 with its title novel. It would be 21 years before a sequel would be published, which was Texasville. It would be another 12 years before a third novel in the series, and then another 8 before the next. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Larry McMurtry’s Duane Moore books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Last Picture Show Books

The Last Picture Show(1966)Description / Buy at
Texasville(1987)Description / Buy at
Duane's Depressed(1999)Description / Buy at
When the Light Goes(2007)Description / Buy at
Rhino Ranch(2009)Description / Buy at

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Last Picture Show Books

Leave a Reply