Alexander Gordon Smith is an English author of young adult and children’s novels. He writes the Escape From Furnace series. When he was a teenager, Alexander would hang out with a bad crowd. He lost a tooth in a fight. Part of what inspired his “Furnace” series is what would have occurred if he had never stopped hanging around these types of people. Alexander studied English literature at the University of East Anglia. He lives in England.

Alexander Gordon Smith made his debut as an author in 2001 with the non-fiction book The Universe: Our Solar System and Beyond. His debut as a novelist was The Inventors, published in 2007. Below is a list of Alexander Gordon Smith’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Alexander Gordon Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of DCI Kett Books

(as Alex Smith)

Paper Girls (2019)Description / Buy at
Bad Dog (2019)Description / Buy at
Three Little Pigs (2020)Description / Buy at
Whip Crack (2020)Description / Buy at
Run Rabbit Run (2020)Description / Buy at
Stone Cold Dead (2021)Description / Buy at
Every Mother's Son (2021)Description / Buy at
Sweet Briar Rose (2021)Description / Buy at
Jaw Breaker (2022)Description / Buy at
Knock Knock (2022)Description / Buy at
King Rat (2022)Description / Buy at
Knuckle Bones (2023)Description / Buy at
Lucky Number Seven (As:Alex Smith) (2023)Description / Buy at
DCI Kett 14 (2023)Description / Buy at
Truly Madly Deadly (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Escape from Furnace Books

Chronological Order of Escape from Furnace Books

Publication Order of The Devil's Engine Books

Publication Order of The Fury Books

Publication Order of The Inventors Books

The Inventors (2007)Description / Buy at
The Inventors and the City of Stolen Souls (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Softley Softley Thrillers Books

(as Alex Smith)

The Harder They Fall (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

This Book Will Kill You (2019)Description / Buy at
Six Days, Six Hours, Six Minutes (As: Alex Smith) (2020)Description / Buy at
Harry Hardman vs. Halloween (With: Nicolas Rix) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Universe: Our Solar System and Beyond (2001)Description / Buy at
1001 Questions and Answers (2002)Description / Buy at
Illustrated Atlas of the World (2003)Description / Buy at
Inspired Creative Writing (2004)Description / Buy at
The Solar System (2006)Description / Buy at
Writing Best-Selling Children's Books (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Touch: Stories Of Contact(2010)Description / Buy at
The New Flesh(2019)Description / Buy at
The Unraveling: A Collection of Short Horror Stories(2020)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Inventors was written with Jamie Webb.

If You Like Alexander Gordon Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Alexander Gordon Smith Synopsis: The Inventors by Alexander Gordon Smith and Jamie Webb is the first Inventors novel. Nate and Cat absolutely love inventing. You name it, they’ve tried to build it. After accidentally turning their headmaster blue, they win a year’s scholarship with the world’s richest, cleverest, most charismatic inventor, Ebenezer Saint. And along with twenty-three of the brightest scientific minds in the land, they begin their year-long stay in the Saint’s Solutions paradise, a vast industrial compound filled with unimaginable inventions. But it soon becomes clear that all is not what it seems. Ebenezer Saint is hiding a dark agenda – and if Nate and Cat ever want to see their families again, they will have to out-wit, out-run and out-invent the world’s greatest inventor.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alexander Gordon Smith Books

Leave a Reply