Alison Weir
Alison Weir is a British author of historical non-fiction and fiction books. The topic of all of her books – whether fiction or non-fiction – is the British monarchy. Alison has written biographies of such royals as Elizabeth I, Henry VIII, Mary, Queen of Scots, Isabella of France and many others. She has also written about the British Royal Family Tree and the Wars of the Roses.

Alison Weir spent four years in the ’70s researching Henry VIII, the result being a biography that was too lengthy and thus rejected. She wouldn’t get published until 1989 with her book Britain’s Royal Families: The Complete Genealogy. The Henry VIII biography would then be revised to become The Six Wives of Henry VIII in 1991. In 2006, Weir turned to fiction, publishing Innocent Traitor about Lady Jane Grey. She would later write novels based on the lives of Elizabeth I and Eleanor of Aquitaine. Below is a list of Alison Weir’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alison Weir releases a new book at

Publication Order of Six Tudor Queens Books

Six Tudor Queens (2016)Description / Buy at
Arthur: Prince of the Roses (2016)Description / Buy at
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen (2016)Description / Buy at
The Blackened Heart (2017)Description / Buy at
Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession (2017)Description / Buy at
The Tower is Full of Ghosts Today (2017)Description / Buy at
The Chateau of Briis: A Lesson in Love (2018)Description / Buy at
Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen (2018)Description / Buy at
The Grandmother's Tale (2018)Description / Buy at
The Unhappiest Lady in Christendom (2018)Description / Buy at
Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait (2019)Description / Buy at
The King's Painter (2019)Description / Buy at
The Curse of the Hungerfords (2019)Description / Buy at
Katheryn Howard, The Scandalous Queen / The Tainted Queen (2020)Description / Buy at
The Princess of Scotland (2020)Description / Buy at
The Wicked Wife (2021)Description / Buy at
Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife (2021)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Child (2021)Description / Buy at
In This New Sepulchre (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Elizabeth I Books

The Lady Elizabeth (2008)Description / Buy at
The Marriage Game (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of England's Medieval Queens Books

Queens of the Conquest (2017)Description / Buy at
Queens of the Crusades (2021)Description / Buy at
Queens of the Age of Chivalry (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tudor Rose Books

Elizabeth of York: The Last White Rose (2022)Description / Buy at
The Golden Prince (2023)Description / Buy at
Henry VIII: The Heart and the Crown (2023)Description / Buy at
The King's Pleasure (2023)Description / Buy at
The Passionate Tudor (2024)Description / Buy at
Mary I: Queen of Sorrows (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Innocent Traitor (2006)Description / Buy at
Captive Queen (2010)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Inheritance (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Traitors of the Tower (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Britain's Royal Families (1989)Description / Buy at
The Six Wives of Henry VIII (1991)Description / Buy at
The Princes in the Tower (1992)Description / Buy at
The Wars of the Roses (1995)Description / Buy at
The Children of Henry VIII (1996)Description / Buy at
The Life of Elizabeth I (1998)Description / Buy at
Eleanor of Aquitaine: A Life (1999)Description / Buy at
Henry VIII: The King and His Court (2001)Description / Buy at
Mary, Queen of Scots, and the Murder of Lord Darnley (2003)Description / Buy at
Queen Isabella (2005)Description / Buy at
Isabella: She-Wolf of France, Queen of England (2005)Description / Buy at
Katherine Swynford / Mistress of the Monarchy (2009)Description / Buy at
The Lady in the Tower (2009)Description / Buy at
The Ring and the Crown (With: Kate Williams,Sarah Gristwood,Tracy Borman) (2011)Description / Buy at
Mary Boleyn (2011)Description / Buy at
Elizabeth of York (2013)Description / Buy at
Richard III and the Princes in the Tower (2014)Description / Buy at
The Lost Tudor Princess (2016)Description / Buy at
A Tudor Christmas (2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Wars of the Roses was also published as Lancaster and York: The Wars of the Roses. The Princes in the Tower was re-published as Richard III and The Princes in the Tower. Children of England: The Heirs of King Henry VIII was later re-titled The Children of Henry VIII. Elizabeth the Queen was published in North America as The Life of Elizabeth I. Isabella: She-Wolf of France, Queen of England was also published as Queen Isabella: Treachery, Adultery and Murder in Medieval England. Mistress of the Monarchy: The Life of Katherine Swynford, Duchess of Lancaster was also published as Katherine Swynford: The Story of John of Gaunt and his Scandalous Duchess. A Tudor Christmas is co-authored by Siobhan Clarke.

If You Like Alison Weir Books, You’ll Love…

Alison Weir Synopsis: Traitors of the Tower by Alison Weir is a 98-page QuickReads novella. Over 400 years ago, five women and two men were beheaded in the Tower of London. Three of the women were once queen, while the others were beheaded for treason. What caused these high-ranking members of society to be put to death?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alison Weir Books

Leave a Reply