Alys Clare is the pen name of British author Elizabeth Harris, who writes historical mystery novels under this pen name. She writes the Hawkenlye Mysteries series and the Aelf Fen series. Alys was raised near where her Hawkenlye series is set in Kent. She went to school in Tonbright, and studied English at the University of Keele. Nowadays, Alys splits her time between Kent and an ancient stone cottage in Brittany, France.

Alys Clare debuted under this pen name in 1999 with the novel Fortune Like the Moon. Below is a list of Alys Clare’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Alys Clare releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hawkenlye Mysteries Books

Fortune Like the Moon (1999)Description / Buy at
Ashes of the Elements (2000)Description / Buy at
The Tavern in the Morning (2000)Description / Buy at
The Chatter of the Maidens (2001)Description / Buy at
The Faithful Dead (2002)Description / Buy at
A Dark Night Hidden (2003)Description / Buy at
Whiter Than the Lily (2004)Description / Buy at
Girl in a Red Tunic (2005)Description / Buy at
Heart of Ice (2006)Description / Buy at
The Enchanter's Forest (2007)Description / Buy at
The Paths of the Air (2008)Description / Buy at
The Joys of My Life (2008)Description / Buy at
The Rose of the World (2011)Description / Buy at
The Song of the Nightingale (2012)Description / Buy at
The Winter King (2014)Description / Buy at
A Shadowed Evil (2015)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Cup (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Aelf Fen Mysteries Books

Out of the Dawn Light (2009)Description / Buy at
Mist Over the Water (2010)Description / Buy at
Music of the Distant Stars (2010)Description / Buy at
The Way Between the Worlds (2011)Description / Buy at
Land of the Silver Dragon (2013)Description / Buy at
Blood of the South (2015)Description / Buy at
The Night Wanderer (2016)Description / Buy at
The Rufus Spy (2018)Description / Buy at
City of Pearl (2019)Description / Buy at
The Lammas Wild (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gabriel Taverner Mystery Books

A Rustle of Silk (2016)Description / Buy at
The Angel in the Glass (2018)Description / Buy at
The Indigo Ghosts (2020)Description / Buy at
Magic in the Weave (2022)Description / Buy at
The Cargo From Neira (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of World’s End Bureau Victorian Mystery Books

The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits (2019)Description / Buy at
The Outcast Girls (2020)Description / Buy at
The Man in the Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at
The Stranger in the Asylum (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alys Clare Books, You’ll Love…

Alys Clare Synopsis: A Rustle of Silk by Alys Clare is the first book in the Gabriel Taverner series. It is 1603, and former ship’s surgeon Gabriel Taverner is looking to rebuild his career as a country physician in rural Devon. But it’s not easy to gain the locals’ trust, and a series of disturbing incidents, increasingly menacing, convinces him that at least one person does not welcome his presence. Called out to examine a partially decomposed body next to the river, Gabriel discovers that he has a personal connection to the dead man. Teaming up with Coroner Theophilus Davey to find out how the man died, Gabriel uncovers some darker aspects of the lucrative silk trade which operates from nearby Plymouth. The more he finds out, the more frighteningly apparent it becomes that the people closest to him have been keeping secrets that put their lives in danger.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alys Clare Books

Leave a Reply