Andrew Shvarts is a Russian-American author who is best known as the author of the Royal Bastards series. He was actually born in the Soviet Union, but immigrated to the United States when he was just four years old.

Shvarts attended Vassar College where he graduated with a degree in English Literature and also a degree in Russian Literature. After college, Andrew began working as a video game writer, producer, and designer. His focus has been on narrative games with episodic storytelling, games like Surviving High School, Cause of Death, and High School Story. Shvarts is married with children and lives and writes in San Jose, California.

Get notified when Andrew Shvarts releases a new book at

Publication Order of Royal Bastards Books

Royal Bastards (2017)Description / Buy at
City of Bastards (2018)Description / Buy at
War of the Bastards (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

It Ends in Fire (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Andrew Shvarts Books, You’ll Love…

Andrew’s first book was Royal Bastards and the story follows a bastard named Tilla. She knows that being a bastard is no fun as her father is Lord Kent of the Western Province, a man who loved her as a child, but cast her aside as she got older and he had trueborn children. Tilla is only sixteen and spends her days exploring the tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half-brother, Jax. She then spends her nights drinking with the servants until she passes out. Tilla keeps dreams of sitting by her fathers side, but realizes how silly this is. One day, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the princess surprises the whole kingdom by sitting at the bastards at the feast. Soon, Tilla is leading the princess on a late-night adventure and teaming up with the other bastards to prevent a civil war.

The second book in the series is called City of Bastards. The book picks up after the events of the first book as things have settled down for Tilla. Until the day that a mysterious man with terrifying powers attacks her.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrew Shvarts Books

Leave a Reply