Anthony Powell (1905-2000) was an English author. He is best known for his Dance to the Music of Time series. Aside from novels, he also wrote, memoirs, plays, poetry, and essays on writing. His work has been adapted to television and radio. He was named one of the Greatest British Writers Since 1945 by The Times newspaper in 2008.

Anthony Powell made his debut as a novelist in 1931 with the standalone title Afternoon Men. Below is a list of Anthony Powell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Dance To The Music Of Time Books

A Question of Upbringing (1951)Description / Buy at
A Buyer's Market (1952)Description / Buy at
The Acceptance World (1955)Description / Buy at
At Lady Molly's (1957)Description / Buy at
Casanova's Chinese Restaurant (1960)Description / Buy at
The Kindly Ones (1962)Description / Buy at
The Valley of Bones (1964)Description / Buy at
The Soldier's Art (1966)Description / Buy at
The Military Philosophers (1968)Description / Buy at
Books Do Furnish a Room (1971)Description / Buy at
Temporary Kings (1973)Description / Buy at
A Dance to the Music of Time (1975)Description / Buy at
Hearing Secret Harmonies (1975)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of To Keep The Ball Rolling: The Memoirs Of Books

Infants of the Spring (1976)Description / Buy at
Messengers of Day (1978)Description / Buy at
Faces in My Time (1981)Description / Buy at
The Strangers All Are Gone (1982)Description / Buy at
To Keep the Ball Rolling (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Afternoon Men (1931)Description / Buy at
Venusberg (1932)Description / Buy at
From a View to a Death (1933)Description / Buy at
Agents and Patients (1936)Description / Buy at
What's Become of Waring (1939)Description / Buy at
O, How the Wheel Becomes It! (1983)Description / Buy at
The Fisher King (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

The Garden God & The Rest I'll Whistle (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chapbooks

Reference For Mellors (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

John Aubrey and His Friends (1948)Description / Buy at
The Empire Revisited (1985)Description / Buy at
Miscellaneous Verdicts (1990)Description / Buy at
Under Review (1992)Description / Buy at
Journals, 1982-86 (1995)Description / Buy at
Journals, 1987-89 (1996)Description / Buy at
Journals, 1990-1992 (1997)Description / Buy at
A Writer's Notebook (2001)Description / Buy at
Some Poets, Artists & 'A Reference for Mellors' (2005)Description / Buy at
Anthony Powell on Wine (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best for Winter(1979)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anthony Powell Books, You’ll Love…

Anthony Powell Synopsis: In A Question of Upbringing by Anthony Powell (book 1 of the Dance to the Music of Time series), Nick Jenkins is introduced to what it’s like living at a boarding school in the 1920s, alongside his friends: Peter Templer, Charles Stringham, and Kenneth Widmerpool. Though their days are filled with visits from relatives and typical pranks, usually at the expense of their housemaster Le Bas, a disastrous trip in Templer’s car threatens their new friendship. As the school year nears its conclusion, the young men are faced with the prospects of adulthood, and with finding their place in the world.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anthony Powell Books

Leave a Reply