Thomas Pynchon
Thomas Pynchon is an American author of English literature. His style is very dense, and lends from influences such as Herman Melville, Vladimir Nabokov, Franz Kafka and William Faulkner. Pynchon grew up in Long Island, New York. He served in the U.S. Navy for two years and earned his English degree from Cornell University. Pynchon is a MacArthur Fellow and the winner of the National Book Award, and has been considered for the Noble Prize for Literature many times. Subjects in his works include history, science and mathematics (among others). Pynchon is a very private person and has very few published photographs since the 1960s.

Thomas Pynchon became a published novelist in 1961 with the novel V. Below is a list of Thomas Pynchon’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Thomas Pynchon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Mortality and Mercy in Vienna (1959)Description / Buy at
The Small Rain (1959)Description / Buy at
Low-Lands (1960)Description / Buy at
The Secret Integration (1964)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Unknown California(1985)Description / Buy at
Storming the Reality Studio(1991)Description / Buy at
Deadly Sins(1994)Description / Buy at

Note: Deadly Sins also contains essays by Antonia S. Byatt, Mary Gordon, Richard Howard, Joyce Carol Oates, William Trevor, John Updike and Gore Vidal.

If You Like Thomas Pynchon Books, You’ll Love…

Thomas Pynchon Synopsis: Thomas Pynchon’s writing career did not begin with his debut novel but with the publication in literary magazines of the five stories collected in the short story collection Slow Learner. In his introduction, Pynchon reviews his early work honestly and looks back at the cultural landscape of when these stories were written.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Thomas Pynchon Books

Leave a Reply